Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Review - Intuition by Jen Meyers

IntuitionTitle: Intuition
Author: Jen Meyers
Series: Intangible
Pages: 22
Release Date: November 3rd 2011
Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: J. Meyers
Source: Amazon
Format: Kindle
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: Intuition: A Bonus Intangible Short Story

Luke and his twin sister Sera have unusual abilities. Hers is a gift—she can heal with a touch of her hand. His is a curse—he can see the future but he can’t do anything about it.

On a hike up the mountain, Luke has a vision unlike any other—one that leaves him terrified. Knowing that it will come true—and that he must do everything in his power to stop it—leaves his own future uncertain.

My Review: Intuition is the prequel to Jen Meyers Intangible trilogy. I got this book for free on Amazon.

This story is short but there is plenty of adventure and magic. It is only a sneak peak into the lives of Luke and Sera but you can see why Luke feels like his gift isn't so much a gift but a curse.

The twins had only planned on going for a hike so that they could be themselves and not have to hide who they are when something happens preventing them from continuing their hike.

This short has left me wanting more so I plan on eventually reading the whole series.

Currently Reading: Heritage by Tara Ellis
Read in 2017: 8/35

Saturday, February 17, 2018

Review - A Summer Thing by Stella Wilkinson



A Summer Thing (Four Seasons Set, #3)Title: A Summer Thing
Author: Stella Wilkinson
Series: Four Seasons
Pages: 47
Release Date: May 4th 2016
Genre: Romance
Publisher:
Source: Amazon
Format: eBook
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads


Synopsis: Oliver said he got lucky over the summer and produced photos of Chloe to prove it - Except it was a lie.

The pictures were real and the girl was real. But Chloe wasn’t in love with him at all, in fact she didn’t even like him - and now she was transferring to his school…

Could he convince her to forgive him and go along with his story? Or was his reputation about to bite the dust?

A young adult romantic comedy novella.

The Seasonal Romance Set is a story for every season by Stella Wilkinson. Books are all stand alone rather than a series and can be read in any order. Suitable for age 12+

My Review: Oliver and his family go to Egypt for the summer where they meet another family and the adults become friends forcing their children to be friends.

Oliver's parent's force him to hang out with their new friends daughter as they are the same age, the problem is  Oliver thinks she is boring so he isn't very nice to her but she burns really easily so she covers up and this causes her to sweat a lot and she ends up with spots.

Back at home Oliver finds himself back at school where he tells his friends that he got lucky with Chloe over the summer and he shows his friends pictures to prove she really exists, good job she doesn't live close by or go to his school right.... WRONG.

Chloe's family end up moving close by and Chloe goes to the same school as Oliver, Oliver has to come clean to Chloe about what he told his friends, only when he goes to see her she is completely different and he realises that he misjudged her.

Will Chloe play along and pretend to be Oliver's girlfriend? Well you will just have to read it and find out.

This short story is full of romance as well as mixed feelings.

Currently Reading: Heritage by Tara Ellis
Read in 2017: 8/35

Thursday, February 15, 2018

Review - The Girl with the Green-Tinted Hair by Gavin Whyte

The Girl with the Green-Tinted HairTitle: The Girl with the Green-Tinted Hair
Author: Gavin Whyte
Series:
Pages: 80
Release Date: February 15th 2015
Genre: Fable
Publisher: Being Books
Source: Amazon
Format: eBook
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: There is a season for everything.

If you enjoyed Antoine de Saint-Exupery's The Little Prince, then you'll love this. 

Described as, "Moving", "Uplifting", and "Enlightening", The Girl with the Green-Tinted Hair is a spiritual fable about personal growth and about seeing how truly magical life is. 

When a boy finds a girl singing and dancing under his favourite tree he didn't realise he had been chosen to be the one-off witness to something out of this world. The boy is shown how to live in joy and is reminded of how to pursue his life's calling. His fear of ageing is overcome and dying is no longer what it seems - all because of the girl with the green-tinted hair. 

In this truly comforting tale of wonder and intrigue, which has been called a "hidden gem", we discover for ourselves how to live in harmony with that which is forever flowing; that which we call life.

My Review: This story is about a young boy who meets a girl and the changes that they go through within a year.

The main character is only referred to as 'the boy', the boy doesn't have any friends so he talks to a tree asking for advice as he knows it will always be there but he doesn't get any answers.

The boy was lonely and desperately wants a friend, what he doesn't know is the tree has been listening to his plea.

The tree sends him a girl who changes with the seasons first a child, then a teenager, adult and finally an elder and each one teaches the boy something new and to live life to the fullest.

Currently Reading: I Love Little Red by Jamie Campbell
Read in 2017: 6/35

Monday, February 12, 2018

Review - Moorehead Manor by David McMullen-Sullivan


Moorehead Manor (Moorehead Manor #1)Title: Moorehead Manor
Author: David McMullen-Sullivan
Series: Moorehead Manor
Pages: 47
Release Date: 7th February 2013
Genre: Horror
Publisher: lulu. com
Source: Amazon
Format: eBook
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads


Synopsis: Three teenagers stumble into a haunted mansion that traps them in a deadly nightmare. In order to escape alive, they must uncover the house's dark secrets of murder and prejudice.

My Review: This was a nice short story, it was a little slow to start with but once it started there was plenty of action.

I don't normally read horror books but it was free on Amazon so I decided to get it and I ended up enjoying it.

The story was creepy and that made it a good read and I got the next book in the series as I want to know what happens next to the teenagers.

The story had a nice twist at the end and the dark secret that the house hides turned out to be a sad story and it made me feel sorry for Alice the young spirit who is trapped in the house.

The teenagers struggle to get out of the house after going in after a prized baseball, the evil spirit traps them inside, Alice is scared of one of the spirits and I would be too if he did what he did to me.

If you like an old-fashioned ghost story this is the book for you, it can be read as a stand alone and it works as a nice quick read for anyone who wants something good and quick to read.

Currently Reading: Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone by J. K. Rowling
Read in 2017: 3/35

Sunday, February 11, 2018

2018 Goals

I know we are now in the middle of February but I haven’t really done any update posts this year as I’ve had to many things going on, so Happy New Year I hope you all had a good Christmas and I hope that your year is getting off to a nice start, if it’s not then just keep telling yourself there’s still 10 more months left in 2018 things can only get better.

Like a few things on my blog, I first found a certain topic post on my cousins blog (Loaded Shelves) and then I decide that it sounds fun and I would also do it, wither that be a challenge or just a post like this one (Here’s her post).

I saw the post a while back and I though oh, I should do that I never set proper goals just like most of you and I’m even worse at keeping them if I do but I do like to have something to aim for, I know that these goals are just something for me to aim towards so I won’t get upset or disappointed if I don’t manage to stick to them although I will find a way to reward myself at the end of the year if I manage to achieve them all.

Here is what I'm working towards this year, both book related and none bookrelated!

Facebook
I have found myself at the end of 2017 and these last two months just scrolling through Facebook, Instagram and Twitter reading people's posts or watching videos people have posted. I know that I can't delete my social media accounts as it's the only way I can talk to the people I talk to when I'm feeling low and my main way of getting in touch with authors. I believe though that if I hadn’t spent so much time needlessly scrolling I could have fitted in a few more books or I could have read bigger books over short stories.

Reading
At the start of 2017 I set my Goodreads goal to 52 as I wanted to read a book a week but by March/April I was way behind so I changed it to 35, then in November when I ended up moving back to mums I just stopped reading so at the end of November I had only read 22/23 so books I changed it to 30 just because I didn’t want to epically fail the challenge, still I didn’t expecting to read 30 books I thought I would be one or two short but I managed to read 33 so I wish I had left it at 35 now and just failed it. This year I have set it at 35 so when I see it saying "You are x books behind" it will hopefully motivate me to read more. I am currently on track with 3/35 read so far this year.
95% of my books are still packed away so I have decided that because I have been getting books from the free section on Amazon every few months for the last 5/6 years (I have nearly 3 thousand of them) I am going to read some of them this year along with finally reading the Harry Potter and Twilight series.

Buying Books
Believe it or not I hardly bought any books last year and I plan on doing it again this year. I do have some pre-ordered and I will be buying any that I need to finish a series I've been reading as well as any written by Jessica Brody and Alyson Noel as I have all their others (Not all of them have been read though). Now I have quit my job this goal will be much easier to achieve seeing as the money I will be getting will have to go towards bills and important things, this year is all about getting my TBR list down and not adding to it.

Weight Loss
This one might be a big problem for me as I love my food and I am super lazy but in November 2016 I had medical gym pass and from the November to about March 2017 and I managed to go from 72kgs to 68kg, then in September last year I signed up for the gym and was going regularly and I got down to 65kg I even started going swimming and now that I have moved I haven’t been going to the gym but I do want to lose some more weight I just need to find some motivation to get out of the house maybe I will grab my iPad and my iPod and walk along the beach sit and read for a while and then walk home, maybe I could even take my sister and her friend with me and they can play one the beach.

Enjoy Our Home
Cazz on Loaded shelves is right this does sound crazy but now I'm living back at my mums I'm trying to save money too so that I can move out, so I'm stealing her idea of staying at home more and doing jigsaws and playing board games (I have monopoly and Cluedo) with the siblings maybe play more Sims 3 and 4 seeing as I have all of the sims 3 and most of the sims 4 and these are things that are not going to cost me. I also plan on reading, writing more and catching up on some films too and I can finally get round to watching all the box sets that I have.

Getting A Job
I quit a job today because after travel costs (£30 a week and a 45ish mile journey twice a week) I hardly had any money left over after giving my mum rent money and paying my bills and getting essentials. So I signed on to the job centre so that I have some money coming in while I find a job that is closer to home and one that I actually enjoy.

Spending More Time With The Ones I Love
I had been living quite far from my friends and family for the last three years meaning that I only ever spoke to them over social media or on the rare occasions that I could afford to go and visit them, I miss cinema visits with my cousin, spending time with my niece and nephew and watching films or playing games with my little sister. So from now on I want to spend more time with my family maybe make it a regular thing with my cousin for cinema trips maybe every month or two, I’ll take my brother, sister, niece and nephew to the beach or park once a week (when the weather gets nicer anyway).

So these are my goals I will try and keep you updated on them when I can. I've not made any goals to keep blogging & post reviews etc - 2018 is about putting less pressure on myself. Of course I will still be posting reviews and I have a few release blitz posts that will be coming up soon but I am trying to sort my life out right now.


xxx

Saturday, February 10, 2018

Review - The Fake Valentine by Stella Wilkinson


The Fake ValentineTitle: The Fake Valentine
Author: Stella Wilkinson
Series: Four Seasons
Pages: 62
Release Date: February 6th 2016
Genre: Romance
Publisher:
Source: Amazon
Format: eBook
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads


Synopsis: So I'm fake dating my ex-boyfriend's new girlfriend's ex-boyfriend. Confused yet? I know I am, especially when Charlie "pretends" to kiss me...

I was heartbroken when Marcus dumped me for Scarlett just days before the Valentine’s Dance, but when I saw Scarlett’s ex, Charlie, clearly in the same boat, I came up with a plan: We’d pretend to date and make them so jealous that they would want us back. Marcus would be mine again by Valentine’s Day - if only I didn’t find fake kissing Charlie quite so exciting! 

The Fake Valentine is a young adult seasonal short story, suitable for 13+


My Review: The Fake Valentine is a story that makes a bad situation good.

The main character Anna gets dumped just before the Valentines Day dance, Anna really want's her ex back but he is now seeing someone else so she comes up with a clever plan to start dating Charlie to make her ex jealous.

The girl Anna's ex dumped her for turns out to be Charlie's ex girlfriend and because Charlie is a very sweet guy he goes along with Anna's plan to date each other so that she can get her ex back.

Charlie and Anna make a super cute couple and I was glad that they actually became a real item as they just seemed so right for each other and I actually saw it coming.

Currently Reading: Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone by J. K. Rowling
Read in 2017: 3/35

Wednesday, February 07, 2018

Review - Getting Out Alive: The Autumn Veatch Story by Tara Ellis


Getting Out Alive: The Autumn Veatch Story (True Stories of Survival Book 1)Title: Getting Out Alive: The Autumn Veatch Story
Author: Tara Ellis
Series: True Story of Survival
Pages: 41
Release Date: January 13th 2016
Genre: Biography
Publisher: Tara Ellis Publications
Source: Author
Format: eBook
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads


Synopsis: A true story…

A harrowing plane crash took the lives of two people and plunged sixteen-year-old Autumn Veatch into the middle of the rugged Cascade Mountains. Injured, alone, and lost, she defies all odds to make it out alive. 

This short story is a true account of a brave young woman's survival. Not only was Autumn the sole survivor of the crash, but she then hiked for nearly three days through some of the most unforgiving terrain in the country. 

Find out what it takes to be a survivor.

My Review: This story of true survival was written fantastically and I am glad that Autumn is on the mend.

Autumn is on her own in the mountains after the plane she is on crashes leaving her as the only survivor of the crash.

Autumn is proof that if you put your mind to something you can achieve anything, she was determined that she wasn't going to die on that mountain so she hiked for day's just so she could be saved, she didn't lose hope.

Autumn is a true survivor and is possible an inspiration to many people. I am happy it had a happy ending, it would have been sad is she did all that hard work for nothing.

Currently Reading: Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone by J. K. Rowling
Read in 2017: 3/35

Tuesday, February 06, 2018

Review - The Text by Claire Douglas


The TextTitle: The Text
Author: Claire Douglas
Series:
Pages: 40
Release Date: August 31st 2017
Genre: Mystery Crime
Publisher: Penguin
Source: Amazon
Format: Kindle
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads


Synopsis: **A free kindle short from Sunday Times bestselling author. Order her newest full length novel, Last Seen Alive, now!**

A single text changed her life. Did it end his?
Emily Latimer is furious. Her boss Andrew is being so unreasonable, as always. She fires off a text to her boyfriend, only in her haste she sends it to her whole office group.
In it she says Andrew's being difficult about letting her have time off work. That she is angry. That she hopes he dies. The next day her face burns in the office. No one believes her when she says it was a typo, she meant to say does. She hopes he does.
It's a nightmare. But it gets worse - Andrew doesn't turn up for work. And then the police come knocking. Because Andrew Burton has been murdered . . .
My Review: I got this for free on Amazon a while back and decided to read it as I was looking for something quick to read and I enjoyed it.

Emily is angry with her boss Andrew as he won't let her have some time off to go on holiday so on her way home she text's her boyfriend that she hope he does let her have time off only instead of writing does she writes dies and not only does she send the text to her boyfriend but she sends it to everyone at work.

Emily doesn't realise that she made a giant typo until later on and by some strange coincidence Andrew is murdered after the text is sent and no one believes her when she tells them it was a typo.

This story keeps people guessing and has a satisfying ending even though it is only 40 pages long. The author also manages to fit a lot into those 40 pages giving the readers plenty of suspects.

This short story is very realistic and could happen to anyone as I'm sure everyone has sent a message with typos (maybe not wishing someone dead though).

Currently Reading: Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone by J. K. Rowling
Read in 2017: 3/35

Monday, February 05, 2018

Forbidden Fruit Cover Reveal by L.M Evans

Forbidden Fruit Cover Reveal

(To sir, with love) By L.M EVANS


Releasing- May
Cover Design by Francessca Wingfield of Francessca's PR & Design

SynopsisCora is in her last term of sixth form when something happens to one of her teachers. The school is a mill of gossip,talking about the new art teacher. During the first lesson in walks Mr tall, sexy and charming, with his cocky grin.

Mr Howard, Jay is Cora's substitute art teacher for the next six week. He's bossy, irresistible but a total ass. His arrogance shows as the female students all crave for his attention.

The moment their eyes meet the sparks begin to fly, there is only one problem she is his student and he's her teacher. A relationship with a student is forbidden it should never happen.

Will they ignore the attraction or will the taste of forbidden fruit be too much to resist?

#authorLMEVANS #tabooromance #forbiddenfruittosirwithlove #francesscaspranddesign

GOODREADS: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/37824604-forbidden-fruit

Author Links: 
Twitter ~ louisem07021983
Instagram ~ Louisem070283
Facebook ~ https://m.facebook.com/Lmevans-Author-171255399731012/

Saturday, February 03, 2018

Review - Getting Out Alive: The Noah Messenger Story by Tara Ellis


Getting Out Alive: The Noah Messenger Story (True Stories of Survival Book 3)Title: Getting Out Alive: The Noah Messenger Story
Author: Tara Ellis
Series: True Stories of Survival
Pages: 48
Release Date: October 23rd 2017
Genre: Biography
Publisher:
Source: Amazon
Format: eBook
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads


Synopsis: A true story... 

A lethal fall from a remote cliff shattered the spine of eighteen-year-old Noah Messenger. Paralysed and broken in what most would consider a hopeless situation, the next 48 hours would determine whether he'd make it out alive. 

This short story is a true account of a young man's will to survive. Using only his arms, he dragged himself across a treacherous, secluded landscape for two days. When most would have given up, Noah persevered. 

Find out what it takes to be a survivor. 

My Review: Noah decides to go for a walk after finishing work while he waits for a co-worker to finish and take him home. Noah walks further down the trek than he usually does but this time the ground crumbles and he plummets to his death down the side of a cliff.

Noah has to move fast, he crawls to a place where someone will be able to see him only he doesn't realise that no one is looking for him as his co worker who was supposed to be taking him home couldn't find him so he thought that Noah had decided to walk home and he didn't know that Noah was missing the next day as he didn't go into work.

Meanwhile in the following two days Noah was determined to survive so he dragged himself across a dangerous land to a farm where he got the help that he needed.

Noah is a true survivor, his injuries were server and could have been made a lot worse by dragging himself as far as he did but fortunately he managed to survive the fall and the weather.

Currently Reading: Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone by J. K. Rowling
Read in 2017: 3/35

Thursday, February 01, 2018

A Christmas Delivery Cover Reveal by Akoya Rayne

✰♡*•˛❤˛•*✰❣✰♡*•˛❤˛•*☆♡*•˛❤˛•*☆
✫¸. •°*”˜˜”*°•.✫ღ˚ •。* ˚ ˚✰˚ ˛★* 。 ღ˛° 。✫¸.•°*”˜˜”*°
Cover Reveal
✰♡*•˛❤˛•*✰❣✰♡*•˛❤˛•*☆♡*•˛❤˛•*☆
✫¸. •°*”˜˜”*°•.✫ღ˚ •。* ˚ ˚✰˚ ˛★* 。 ღ˛° 。✫¸.•°*”˜˜”*°
Author: Akoya Rayne
Title: A Christmas Delivery
Series: Christmas with the Ellis Family
Release Date: February 14th, 2018
✰♡*•˛˛•*✰❣✰♡*•˛˛•*☆♡*•˛˛•*☆
✫¸. •°*”˜˜”*°•.✫ღ˚ •。* ˚ ˚✰˚ ˛★* 。 ღ˛° 。✫¸.•°*”˜˜”*°

Pre-order Links:
Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/2DQo5p1
✰♡*•˛˛•*✰❣✰♡*•˛˛•*☆♡*•˛˛•*☆
✫¸. •°*”˜˜”*°•.✫ღ˚ •。* ˚ ˚✰˚ ˛★* 。 ღ˛° 。✫¸.•°*”˜˜”*°

Blurb:
A motherless child, a lone-parent father, and a mothers matchmaking skill to unite all three.
Nicara Elms has been living her life her way without a man for the past seven years. Hidden away in her peaceful cottage after the loss of her daughter, she shies away from the public eye and the high society lifestyle her parents live for. However, everything changes when she meets her next door neighbor’s handsome son.
Tobias Ellis has moved back in with his mother and young son following the break-up of his marriage. Giving into his mother's demands, he finally agrees to meet the girl next door, and Nicara is blown away by what she feels for him the first time he holds her in his arms.
With Christmas fast approaching, something wonderful is about to happen, and a special delivery will bring these two lovers even closer than they could ever have imagined.
✰♡*•˛˛•*✰❣✰♡*•˛˛•*☆♡*•˛˛•*☆
✫¸. •°*”˜˜”*°•.✫ღ˚ •。* ˚ ˚✰˚ ˛★* 。 ღ˛° 。✫¸.•°*”˜˜”*°
Cover Designer: Mae's Wicked Grafix
Proofreader: Lindsay Johnston

A Christmas Delivery Teaser


Friday, January 19, 2018

Release Blitz Lizzie James Missing Piece

╔═══════╗
♥     RELEASE BLITZ     
╚═══════════╝ 

Missing Piece by Lizzie James
Cover design: Kathryn Dee at KatDeezigns
Cover Model: Camila Andrews
Photographer: Warren Blair Photography

Take part in Lizzie’s #ReleaseBlitz giveaway for a $25 Amazon gift card here: https://goo.gl/9aKx4L

Available for Preorder

Synopsis:
Tillie
Starting college is supposed to be fun. Exciting. Instead i’ve ended up living across the street from Johnny. Star footballer, charmer, intelligent. Perfect right? Wrong! I have no intention of being this line-backer’s latest conquest. Staying far away from him is my only choice. even if every little thing he does makes me swoon. Johnny Baker is bad news for any girl. He’s a player and no girl will change that. Only he wasn’t. He began to capture my attention more and more until all I thought of was him.
He was my missing piece…

Johnny
Being the line-backer is easy. Especially when it gets me a different girl in my bed every night. That’s exactly what Tillie was supposed to be. Just another conquest. Wham and bam! She would be easy. I had never been with an art geek before but every other female fell at my feet or more accurately into my bed. Only she didn’t. Tillie Jacobs came into my world and blew it apart. Every little thing she did; every laugh, every moment… she possessed me.
She was my missing piece…

You can stalk Lizzie at the following links:

Teaser Two Lizzie James Missing Piece

╔═══════╗
♥     RELEASE BLITZ     
╚═══════════╝ 

Missing Piece by Lizzie James
Cover design: Kathryn Dee at KatDeezigns
Cover Model: Camila Andrews
Photographer: Warren Blair Photography


Take part in Lizzie’s #ReleaseBlitz giveaway for a $25 Amazon gift card here: https://goo.gl/9aKx4L


Teaser One Lizzie James Missing Piece

╔═══════╗
♥     RELEASE BLITZ     
╚═══════════╝ 

Missing Piece by Lizzie James
Cover design: Kathryn Dee at KatDeezigns
Cover Model: Camila Andrews
Photographer: Warren Blair Photography


Take part in Lizzie’s #ReleaseBlitz giveaway for a $25 Amazon gift card here: https://goo.gl/9aKx4L



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...