Friday, July 22, 2016

Review - The Secret of Camp Whispering Pine by Tara Ellis


The Secret of Camp Whispering Pines (Samantha Wolf Mysteries #2)Title: The Secret of Camp Whispering Pine
Author: Tara Ellis
Series: Samantha Wolf Mysteries
Pages: 216
Release Date: January 29th 2015
Genre: Children's Fiction
Publisher: Tara Ellis Publications
Source: Amazon
Format: Kindle
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: What could be better than hiking, swimming, and horseback riding? Having a mystery to solve, of course! 
When Sam and Ally embark on their next quest together, they have no idea what secrets hide in the shadows at Camp Whispering Pines. Set in the beautiful, rugged mountains of the Pacific Northwest, the clues are slowly revealed, and it’s up to the two girls to figure it out. 

New friendships are formed, while at the same time enemies lurk nearby. The closer they get to uncovering the truth behind the camp, the further they are pushed into danger and deceit. Can Sam and Alley put all of the pieces together before it’s too late? Follow them on another thrilling tale filled with excitement and adventure, along misty, high mountain trails and deep ravines, where the answers wait to be found! 

My Review: This book was a nice easy fun read, it is written for young children but I really enjoyed it.

Camp Whispering Pines is set just after book one but it can be read separately. The story starts off with Ally and Sam at home after solving the Mystery at Sam's Aunt and Uncles Inn, Ally's Aunt is a troop leader and she has a scholarship so that Sam can go to the Camp with Ally.

When they get to the camp they find out that they may be assigned to different cabins but luckily Ally and Sam get assigned to the same cabin which share a cabin with 3 other girls their age, Lexie who was at the camp earlier that summer at the last camp session and she seems to know everything, Becky a shy girl who seems to be scared of everything at the start but then she seems to relax and have fun and there is also Sandy who is a rich girl who doesn't want to be at camp. The girls all share the cabin with a camp counselor named Butterfingers who all the girls seem to get along with.

During their time at camp things start happening and Sam and Ally start getting the blame for it first they just get told off and have to help out in the kitchen, next they have to spend the day in isolation where they aren't allowed to join in with the camp activities and then they get told that they are being sent home the next day.

Sam and Ally get into trouble because someone puts food into their bags after being told that they cannot have food in their cabin, then Sam gets into trouble when shes on a horse trek so Lexie, Sandy and Becky decide to investigate along with Sam and Ally but Sam and Ally sneak out after curfew and get caught and they get kidnapped by the bad guys.

In the end you find out who was causing Sam and Ally to get into trouble, at first I thought it was one person but then after a while I figured out who the real troublemaker was and I was glad that Sam and Ally were both okay at the end.

Thursday, July 21, 2016

Interview - Katie Salidas 2016

When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?
My first attempt at a novel happened when I was still in middle school. Around 8th-8th grade. I had been inspired by The Vampire Diaries (book) as well as Queen of the Damned and really wanted to try my hand at writing a vampire story. Sadly, my manuscript was lost the year we moved to Las Vegas 1994 and I was crushed. I did not complete another manuscript for nearly 10 years after that, but since I rekindled the love of writing I have written 15 more novels.

Can you tell us about your upcoming book? And how you come up with the idea?
The book I am currently writing is very exciting for me as it will be a continuation of a series my readers are chomping at the bit for, as well as a cross over into my original series, which has been a long-time favourite of readers.
The book is titled” Fearless Little Werewolf and it will be book 3 in my Little Werewolf series and has a guest appearance by Fallon who is the sidekick turn MC of my Immortalis series.
It is expected to be out early this Autumn and if all goes well will spark a new storyline for both characters (Fallon – Immortalis and Giselle – The Little Werewolf)  allowing me to marry the series and bring back some of the characters from the Immortalis that have been waiting in the wings for their chance to return.
The Little Werewolf, (for those who are unfamiliar with the series) is about a lost little wolf who grew up away from the safety of a pack in the human foster care system. She’s secretive, aloof, and a lone wolf who has to learn what it truly means to be part of something bigger than herself and find her fur-ever home.

When writing about something you don’t know very much about where does your information come from?
I’m a google-a-holic! Seriously. I am always searching for the craziest things. My quest for knowledge is insatiable. I look up anything and everything that sparks my interest and can get lost for days in internet searches. Which of course hinders my writing time.

What is the easiest and the hardest part to write?
The easiest part of a story is always the beginning. I’m a bit of a pantser so I write what comes to me. Essentially I explore the story much like a reader does, allowing the events to unfold before me. As if I am merely chronicling the events of others, I often have ideas of what I would like to see happen, and then the story takes a turn I didn’t plan and I’m whisked away on the adventure with the characters.
The down side of this style of writing is it is very easy to write yourself into a corner and not know how to get out of it.
Writer’s block is a very real, very painful thing and when it strikes, it often takes a while to recover. Sometimes that recovery means deleting chapters and re-writing.

Is there anything you would like to say to your readers?
I keep a close relationship with many of my readers. I have a street team on Facebook that I use as a circle of friends more than a platform for advertising. I regularly ask my readers what THEY want to see happen in books. My goals are to make readers happy. Yes, the story must come out organically, and it must make sense, but if I can honor my readers requests and wishes, I do try.
I am nothing without my readers.

Are there any of your characters you would like to work further with or is there a character in another book by someone else that you would like to add to one of your novels?
That’s actually what makes my current book so much fun. I have had many readers ask when I will return to the world of the Immortalis. When I realized that world and the world of the Little Werewolf were not too different, I snatched that opportunity. I am having so much fun bringing back old characters and giving them new life and purpose. This in turn will allow me to revitalize the old series and honor my readers requests to return and expand on that storyline.

Are there any authors you would like to work with to create an anthology?
I’ve had the honor of working with quite a few exceptional authors on anthology projects and cross promoting books. Secret Worlds, Shifted, Magick after Midnight, just to name a few. These multi-author anthologies were an awesome introduction to new authors I have never read before and gave me a wealth of knowledge on the herculean task that it is to put together these types of group collections.  I’d welcome more collaborations and cross series projects in the future. In fact, I will be included in another one later this year (title still pending) in the Parnormal Fantasy realm. The collection should be due out around Halloween.
Be sure to follow my Newsletter for updates. (You get a free book just for signing up)

Monday, July 18, 2016

Get to Know Me - Katie Salidas



Where do you live?
I sometimes cringe when I have to answer this one because being from Vegas, people instantly get some crazy notion that I live in a hotel or spend my pay check gambling.  I do live in Las Vegas but sadly, I don’t have money to gamble and rarely ever make it down to the famous Strip for a little recreational fun. I can see the light from the Luxor though if I look out of my bedroom window though. LoL.

Can you tell me about yourself?
Hi. I’m Katie. And…. I like to write. That pretty much sums it up. Okay, okay, there is a little bit more. I’m also, mommy to three awesome munchkins. Two girls and one boy. And there is a husband around here somewhere too. Oh and three cats. Apparently you are not allowed to have just one. They kind of multiply on you when you’re not looking. But that’s it. I mean it. As people go, I guess I am pretty boring, so I do try and make my stories super interesting to make up for it.

Why and when did you begin to write?
Writing has been a part of my life since I was very young. I wrote my first story back when I was still in middle school.  It’s an escape for me. A way to get away from the day to day of the normal world and enter a world of magic and paranormal creatures.

How long each day/week do you dedicate to writing?
I try to get in at least 500 words a day. 1k if I’m doing really well, but at minimum I like to get something on paper each day. Even if those words are deleted right after, it is practicing the art that is most important.

What is your usual genre that you write in and would you consider changing it? If so what would you change it to?
I play in all genres associated with the paranormal realm. Sometimes I write more Young adult. Sometimes more fantasy. I even have a few naughty stories under a pen name. But the thing that ties them all together is that they have some kind of otherworldly creature. Vampire, Witch, Werewolf, etc…

When reading yourself do you prefer to read eBooks, paperbacks or hardbacks and do you stick with the genre you write or all genres?
If I have the book in print, definitely print! Otherwise, Kindle it is! And as far as genre goes, I read anything from Epic High Fantasy to BDSM Erotica. I am an equal opportunity reader. If it sounds good, I’ll give it a go

Thursday, July 14, 2016

Interview - Kevin David Anderson 2016

I had the pleasure to interview Kevin David Anderson, here is what he had to say
When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?
I started writing in high school, usually taking a bland English class assignment and turning it into something creative. Depending on the teacher I was either scolded or praised. I finish my first manuscript about age 35. I would have to write two more before making that first novel sale.

Can you tell us about your upcoming book? And how you came up with the idea?
My most recent book Night of the ZomBEEs (the Walking Dead in Bee costumes) is a middle grade tween horror comedy and the idea came from a joke I didn’t immediately get. While attending a Zombie Convention after the release of Night of the Living Trekkies, a friend of mine said she was going to attend dressed as a bee, all bloodied, looking dead. Why in the world would you do that? I said.  ZomBEE, get it. I didn’t get it but when I went to the convention and saw people dressed as zombified bees, I finally got it. Brilliant I thought, and this could be a story. I mean could BEE a story.

When writing about something you don’t know very much about where does your information come from?
I try to stick to things I know, and know well, I think most writers do, but when I have to venture out beyond my own scope of knowledge, I like the feel of a real library to do my research. Google is fast and efficient and sometimes even correct, but for me a big dusty medical book that hasn’t been opened in a few years on the back shelf in a little used research section of the public library can not only give me the information, but solace and atmosphere. Things I need to write.  

What is the easiest and the hardest part to write?
I sometimes think the easiest part to write is the work itself. Beginning, middle, end. What they don’t tell you in writing class is that no one may ever read your work until you master what is called a query letter. These are the notes or one line pitches you sent to editors and agents. Your entire novel, maybe a year of your life, rests on your ability to boil it down to one or two lines that intrigues an agent and stands out amongst the other thousand query letters they get. If new writers truly understood how daunting it is, most would never type the words “chapter one.” 

Do you ever experience writers block? If so how do you find best to cure it?
All the time. For me there is only one cure. Read, read, read. When a writer reads he or she is often refilling the tank of inspiration, and once full the block soon fades away.

Is there anything you would like to say to your readers?
Always know where your towel is at.

Is anything in your book based on real life events or is it all imagination?
No real life events. I write horror, zombies, surreal fantasy kind of stuff and my life is as dull and un-speculative as it gets.

What inspired you to write your first/last novel?
I had just finished reading a zombie novel by Brian Keene called The Rising, and I really liked how he twisted the genre and did something new. Latter I was watching a documentary called Trekkies which chronicles the detailed, interesting lives of Star Trek fans. And then it hit me, what would happen if there was a zombie outbreak at a Star Trek convention. In an instant I had my first novel idea that a publisher would buy: Night of the Living Trekkies.

What is you biggest accomplishment, writing wise?
Any would-be writer that finishes a novel manuscript, good or bad, should be proud. Any writer that sells that manuscript should be very proud. Any writer that manages to impress their fourteen-year old in this day and age by becoming a published novelist has performed a miracle. That is my biggest accomplishment.

What sort of starbucks/costa coffee would your character order? A simple coffee or the complicated soy-non-fat-extra-espresso-half-caff-nightmare?
Coffee, straight, black, no sweetener, or creamer, no mint flavour whip cream or anything that comes from a candy shop. Coffee isn’t supposed to taste good, or like it’s been filtered through a Snickers bar. It’s suppose to be a mean drink that wakes you the hell up with a bitter dark slap and screams, “Now get in that seat, start writing, and for the love of all creativity be brilliant!” 


Monday, July 11, 2016

Get to Know Me - Kevin David Anderson

Where do you live?
Sunny, Southern California in a small wine making community called Temecula.

Can you tell me about yourself?
I was born in middle America, but have spent most of my life on the west coast walking on the sandy beaches of the Pacific Ocean. While in college I had a variety of jobs, everything from working at Disneyland to behind the camera work in adult films in the same real world time and setting depicted in the film Boogie Nights. I spent 15 years in marketing and advertising working with entertainment and sports celebrities. I’m married, have two children, a mortgage and I drive a minivan. I’ve had seventy or so short stories published, one collection, two novels, and I’m an active member of the Horror Writers Association. 

Why and when did you begin to write?
I couldn’t tell you why, as I have no idea, but as to when, I know I started experimenting with writing in high school. I usually tinkered with my English assignments creating fiction even when I wasn’t asked to. This had good and bad results.

How long each day/week do you dedicate to writing?
It varies, anywhere from 6-20 hours

Do you use pen and paper first then transfer to computer or computer all the way?
I’m old enough that when I started writing way back when, not everybody had computers so pen and paper was the only way to go. Now its computer all the time.

If you were shipwrecked on a desert island what 3 books would you take?
Nine Stories by J.D. Salinger
Catch 22 by Joseph Heller
How to Survive on a Desert Island for Dummies 

Friday, July 01, 2016

Feature Friday - Suicide Lake

This weeks feature is Ashley Fontainne's Suicide Lake which is available now (See links at the bottom)

Title: Suicide Lake
Author: Ashley Fontainne
Publisher: RMSW Press
Genre: Mystery
Pages: 294

Blurb:
Those who have secrets… 

Renee Thornton is on the brink of despair, ready to take a final plunge and join the other tragic souls at the bottom of Bradford Lake—known to locals as Suicide Lake.

Beneath the murky waters… 

Her plans change when she’s startled back to reality after a body brushes up against her from the depths below. Terrified, Renee runs away and slams into her old flame Cliff Simpson, a deputy with Whitten County Sheriff’s Department.

Will stop at nothing… 

Strange events unfurl after the discovery of the corpse. Renee and Cliff find themselves caught up in a web of lies, deceit, and mystery.

To keep them hidden… 

Now instead of being able to slip away silently and become another anonymous statistic, Renee finds herself entangled in a murder investigation. Is Cliff her ally or enemy? Who can she trust? What other secrets will rise to the surface?


You can add this to you Goodreads to read list

and

You can buy Suicide Lake from the links below where it is available in Kindle/eBook format, audiobook format or paperback format.
Amazon UK                Amazon US
Barnes and Noble        iTunes           Kobo

Monday, June 27, 2016

Review - Boys of Summer by Jessica Brody


Boys of SummerTitle: Boys of Summer
Author: Jessica Brody
Series: N/A
Pages: 352
Release Date: April 5th 2016
Genre: Young Adult
Publisher:
Source: Amazon
Format: Paperback
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads


Synopsis: Choose your own boyfriend in this breezy beach read about love, family, and the true meaning of friendship.


Meet the Boys of Winlock Harbor…
Grayson Cartwright: Golden Boy. Football Prodigy. Troublemaker.
Mike Metzler: Local Heartthrob. Surfer Boy. Hopeless Romantic.
Ian Handler: Army Brat. Musician. King of Sarcasm.

Best friends since they were kids, Grayson, Mike, and Ian were hoping for another epic summer on “The Locks”, filled with clambakes, bonfires, and late-night swims in the ocean.

But that was before Ian’s dad never returned home from his last deployment. Before Mike had to take on more responsibility in order to help provide for his family. Before Grayson’s accident left him with an injured throwing arm and an uncertain future.

It’s clear this summer on the island is shaping up to be very different from those Grayson, Mike, and Ian had come to rely on. And when the sacred code of dating a friend’s sister or ex is broken, it will push their friendship to the absolute limit, testing their loyalties in a way that could either break them—or save them.

My Review: I loved this story it was an excellent read that I just couldn't put down it was a page turner and I was up until gone 2 am one day reading. Boys of Summer is told in 3 points of view, the boys are reunited for the summer but all is not right between them and they all keep secrets from one another where as before they were so close.

Ian and Grayson go to Winlock Harbor for the summer while Mike lives there, they met each other when they were children and have spend every summer hanging out together and making fun of the tourists. This summer tho is different.

All the boys are very different status and personality wise.

My favourite character in the story was Ian, the brooding musician, it seems like that he doesn't want to be on the Locks which is understandable, but when he lands himself a new girlfriend he seems a lot happier.

Mike was cool, at the beginning of the book he is getting prepared to leave the Locks once summer is over and go to Hollywood with his on-off (mostly off) girlfriend Harper so that she can become famous. Mike spends all summer working to help keep his family afloat due to his father being injured and not being able to work. After a big break-up with Harper Mike meets a girl on the beach after she tried to save him from not drowning. I liked that he finally came to his senses and realized that staying on Winlock Harbor is where he needs to be and that he was happy in the end.

I wasn't a fan of Grayson as I thought he was a spoiled brat but I did relate with him though and I felt sorry for him not being able to do football after his accident because I know how it feels to be in that much pain due to a broken arm and not be able to do the things you used to be able to do. Grayson does something stupid which hurts one of his friends but in the end it turns out okay.

At the end of the book there a chapter about how the boys have turned their troubled lives around which I think was great and I can see a potential Boys of Summer series maybe 3 new books one on each one of the boys after that summer and what they get up to. Do they get into college? Do there new relationships last? Who know what will happen next.

Sunday, June 26, 2016

Review - Druhall of the Seven Uniters by Alicia J. Love


Druhall of the Seven UnitersTitle: Druhall of the Seven Uniters
Author: Alicia J. Love
Series: The Seven Uniters: The Originals
Pages: 19
Release Date: October 16th 2013
Genre: Science Fiction
Publisher: Smashword
Source: Amazon
Format: Kindle
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads


Synopsis: Druhall has always been afraid. Orphaned on an alien planet, he has always relied on his twin brother, Dreemad, to protect him. But, their lives have completely changed, gifted with the powers of the universe and expected to fight in the intergalactic war. Can Druhall find the strength to fight? And can he learn to let go of his fear and stop relying on his brother to protect him?


My Review: This was a quick read and quite sad at the start, Druhall is a twin, he is also an alien brought up on a different planet than his home planet where he and his brother lived in a foster home and were picked on by other kids. Druhall is scared and doesn't want to leave his brother but he picks up the courage to do so and he manages to take down an army by himself.

Review - Jakkob of the Seven Uniters by Alicia J. Love


Jakkob of the Seven UnitersTitle: Jakkob of the Seven Uniters
Author: Alicia J. Love
Series: The Seven Uniters: The Originals
Pages: 20
Release Date: June 26th 2013
Genre: Science Fiction
Publisher: Amazon Digital Services Inc
Source: Amazon
Format: Kindle
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: Jakkob finds out he is one of the Seven Uniters, blessed with the powers of the universe in order to bring peace to the universe that has been engulfed in intergalactic war since before he was born. His new found power comes at a terrible cost, though.


My Review: Another quick and easy read, Jakkob was born on a planet that was destroying other planets and killing thousands of people, he didn't want to leave his mum and join the fight but he was being forced to, luckily for Jakkob he managed to escape due to him being special and receiving his powers.

Review - Aaria of the Seven Uniters by Alicia J. Love


Aaria of the Seven UnitersTitle: Aaria of the Seven Uniters
Author: Alicia J. Love
Series: The Seven Uniters: The Originals
Pages: 20
Release Date: April 13th 2013
Genre: Science Fiction
Publisher: Smashwords
Source: Amazon
Format: Kindle
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: Aaria, a member of the Seven Uniters, fights the ruthless forces of Alasarr to win back her conquered home planet. They are powerful and determined, but one thing they didn't realize is that this isn't just some planet, this was her home. This was personal. And they were going to pay.


The Seven Uniters: The Originals



In the midst of a terrible intergalactic war, the holy people of all the planets came together and prayed. Their homes were being destroyed, the universe ravaged by the destructive forces of the war. They prayed and prayed, and then they were born. There were seven of them. Seven to unite them. Seven to end the war.

My Review: This book was a nice quick read. We meet Aaria who seemed to be a nice character who just wanted to get her planet Alasarr back, the short story introduces the other six characters.  Aaria leads the group of Seven Uniters into battle where she using her special powers to save the planet.

Thursday, June 23, 2016

Review - Die Once More by Amy Plum


Die Once more (Revenants, 3.5)Title: Die Once More
Author: Amy Plum
Series: Revenants
Pages: 100
Release Date: February 3rd 2015
Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: Epic Reads Impulse
Source: Amazon
Format: Kindle
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads


Synopsis: This one-hundred-page novella picks up where the international bestselling Die for Me trilogy ended and follows the eternally irresistible Jules Marchenoir as he leaves Paris behind for a fresh start in New York City.

Jules is a Revenant—an undead being whose fate forces him to sacrifice himself over and over again to save human lives. He's spent the last century flirting his way through Paris and, most recently, falling in love with his best friend's girlfriend. Loyalty and heartbreak have led him to choose a new life in NYC.

Separated from his friends and his home, Jules is adrift in this dangerous new world, facing unknown enemies . . . until he meets a Revenant named Ava. Though the battle for France has been won, an epic war between good and evil has just begun in the Big Apple, and Ava needs Jules's help to uncover the key to an American victory. Jules finds himself in the same position he crossed an ocean to escape: at risk of losing his immortal existence as well as his heart.

My Review: This short novella tells us about Jule's life after he has joined the NYC Barda. at first he is still pining after Kate who he knows that he cannot have and living in her hometown isn't helping him as much as he thought it would.

He decides to go on his first walk with the NYC Barda and while he is on his first walk looking for Numa he realizes how different it is to France because there are more Barda walking the streets at one time than there is in France but there are many more Barda in NYC compared to those in France.

While he is on his walk he meets Ava and he forgets all about Kate and is now only interested in her, the only problem is there is a war coming and he needs Kate's help to keep Ava save so that he doesn't lose her too because she is just as special as Kate.

The Revenant series have gotten better with each book and I am really going to miss the characters.

Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Review - If I Should Die by Amy Plum


If I Should Die (Revenants, #3)Title: If I Should Die
Author: Amy Plum
Series: Revenants
Pages: 408
Release Date: May 1st 2013
Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: Atom
Source: Amazon
Format: Paperback
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: An enthralling and unique paranormal romance, Amy Plum's DIE FOR ME series introduces a new version of the undead with revenants, beings who are fated to sacrifice themselves over and over again to save others' lives.

The final thrilling installment of Amy Plum's DIE FOR ME series.

I will not lose another person I love. I will not let history repeat itself.

Vincent waited lifetimes to find me, but in an instant our future together was shattered. He was betrayed by someone we both called a friend, and I lost him. Now our enemy is determined to rule over France s immortals, and willing to wage a war to get what they want.

It shouldn t be possible, none of it should be, but this is my reality. I know Vincent is somewhere out there, I know he s not completely gone, and I will do anything to save him.

After what we've already fought to achieve, a life without Vincent is unimaginable. He once swore to avoid dying - to go against his nature and forsake sacrificing himself for others - so that we could be together. How can I not risk everything to bring my love back to me?

My Review: If I Should Die was the 3rd and final installment in Amy Plum's Revenants series. It was jam packed with anger, sadness and loads of action.

The story starts where the last one ended, Kate distraught, Vincent dead and in the hands of Violette a girl whom the Barda believed and treated as one of their own because they believed that Vincent was the Champion.

Throughout the story we see Kate grieving for her lost love, somehow Kate manages to be able to hear Vincent. Kate's grandmother finds out all about the Revenants and like her husband she wants Kate to stay away from Frances Barda, until Kate and her sister go off wandering and almost get killed by Violette's men, forcing Kate's grandmother to make a deal with JB so that Kate and her family will have around the clock Revenant guards to keep them safe from the Numa.

During this final book - without revealing everything - Kate, her grandfather and Jules travel to America to try and get Vincent back and after they manage that something BIG happens to Kate which means that she gets to meet many new Revenats from across the world as well as some old Revenants that come back into her life and one leaving her life.

Tuesday, June 21, 2016

Forgotten Origins Book Trailer

The Forgotten Origins is a young adult scifi trilogy about a young girl who fights to save the world from a mind - altering infection and they’re smarter, faster and emotionless.

See below to watch the trailer.


Review - Haven: A Stranger Magic by D. K. Akers



A Stranger Magic (Haven, #1)Title: The Stranger Magic
Author: D. K. Akers
Series: Haven
Pages: 172
Release Date: March 5th 2013
Publisher: Vanquisher Publishing
Source: Amazon
Format: Kindle
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: Sam Dalcome thinks he is so completely average that no one ever notices him. Until he discovers a mysterious stranger outside his home. Bewildered, he tries to uncover the stranger’s intentions. But Sam is sidetracked when he and his friend Travis discover a secret passageway deep in the town’s quarry that leads to a hidden cavern. What they uncover next will not only change their lives forever, but will uncover the first clue to a deadly Dalcome family secret. Sam finds himself drawn into a world of mystery and magic he never knew existed, which brings him closer to a destiny he never knew was possible.

HAVEN SERIES: Known as a place of refuge, Haven is a sanctuary for those with supernatural abilities. Decades of peace between the Witches, Vampires, Goblins, Elves, and Orcs is coming to an end. Now the once tranquil world is shrouded in deception and corruption. Dark secrets tear at the very fabric of their alliance giving way to an evil that stirs in the shadows. Exhilarating and utterly gripping, the HAVEN series is an action-packed journey full of suspense, magic, mystery, and intrigue.

My Review: A Strangers Magic was about a teenage boy named Sam who lives with his mother who works a lot to pay the bills and sister who is always mean to him.

Sam has been having nightmares and one night he thinks he sees someone hiding in the shadows of a neighboring house across the street, so Sam goes outside but there is no one there but there are sweet wrappers where the person was standing so Sam takes one of the wrappers to show his friend.

Sam's friend Trent talks Sam into going to the quarry and when they do they discover a secret tunnel that is new, the tunnel goes deep into the quarry and leads to a hidden cavern. While exploring the cavern Sam finds the first clue to his family secret.

D.C Akers did a good job at keeping me entertained by using a lot of descriptions to keep the images flowing in my head while reading. I love stories with magic so I enjoyed getting my head stuck in this world of magic.

This was an easy read that I managed to get through it with no trouble and it is easy to get lost in the story and it finishes before you know it.

Thursday, April 21, 2016

Creative Writing

I've spent the last month writing different stories because I get an idea and write a few pages but then I get a new idea that doesn't fit with what I was currently working on so I start writing another one I now have 4/5 different stories on the go not including my NaNoWriMo story.

Tuesday, March 08, 2016

Review - Deliver Me by Paige Logan

Deliver MeTitle: Deliver Me
Author: Paige Logan
Pages: 38
Release Date: November 18th 2013
Source: Amazon
Format: Kindle
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: Deliver Me is a Christian short story about a fallen cheerleader who thinks she's invincible until a brief encounter with the most popular guy in school leads to her pregnancy. Everything changes--her scholarship, her popularity, her family's approval...all gone once the news is out. Jade sets out on her own only to find that the sheltered life she once led is now a cold and cruel world. Baby Luke is her only joy, but she learns to open her heart to those she once scorned... leading to a transformation and the possibility of a new life and a new love. But will her past longings ruin her new future?

My Review: Deliver Me is a short story about a young girl who gets pregnant after having sex for the first time in the backseat of a car by some jerk.

Jade was a cheerleader who was dating a jock who sort of forced himself on her one night. Once she gets pregnant, her mother disowns her, she loses her scholarship and her reputation goes from school cheerleader to school slut.

Jade leaves her family home and gets a job to pay for her room in a board house, she finishes school and works weekends just to get by.

After getting pregnant and losing all her friends she makes friends with the schools other slut Dawn who got the name by catching Jade’s baby daddy cheating on Jade. Jade also becomes friends with a boy named Riley who has a crush on Jade.

After Jade has her baby Luke she leaves him with the owner of the house she’s staying in and goes back to school and work. Jade trusts the woman so one day she leaves baby Luke with her while she goes on a date with Riley and he asks her to marry him but Jade says no, mainly because they don’t know each other that well.

Then later on Luke’s dad wants to meet up so he can see his baby and he tells Jade that he has changed and he to ask Jade to marry him. She keeps the ring on and while at work Riley goes to her lane with paint and supplies and he sees the ring he isn’t happy.

While Jade is at work serving Riley, Dawn comes running in and tells Jade that the owner of the house is trying to sell baby Luke, Riley drives Dawn and Jade back to the house just in time to get her baby before the couple leave with him.

Because of this incident the baby daddy and his family try to take Luke away until Jade sends him a video and he stops the proceedings. Jade then goes to Riley’s house but he isn’t home but his mother tells Jade where he is and she looks after Luke so Jade can find Riley, once she finds him she begs him for a second chance which he gives her.

Saturday, March 05, 2016

Review - Because the Baby is Now A Mommy by Juliana Alano


Because the Baby is Now a MommyTitle: Because The Baby is now A Mommy
Author: Juliana Alano
Pages: 107
Release Date: May 26th 2013
Source: Amazon
Format: Kindle
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: The only time a positive sign ever seemed to negatively impact my life for a moment was when I saw it on a pregnancy test kit. I was 17 and I had just finished my freshman year in college. I was a small town girl, full of life, full of hope, and with big dreams. Being under the radar of a backward community in one of the small towns in the Philippines, I knew my life would change... forever. What's a young, teenage pregnant girl to do? With no job, no money, and with a partner who seemed to love only himself, I felt like I was doomed.

My Presbyterian university refused to take me in during my sophomore year because they considered me immoral for what I have done, forgetting the rest of all the good things I actually did as a student. I basically lost everything. My family was displeased, my friends were appalled, my community was judgmental. But I did not falter. I looked to God and my inner strength to conquer what I believe was not the end, but a new beginning in my life, a beautiful one.

This is a story that ought to inspire all the young moms out there, relating the struggles, the tests, the boundaries, the facts, and the possibilities of teenage pregnancy, and why it should never hinder anyone from ever hoping and seeing life as beautiful and livable as can be. "Because the Baby is Now a Mommy" is as real as it can get, proving that teen pregnancy, whether in the east or the west will be a societal challenge. But with love and compassion, it can be conquered.

My Review: This book is about a girl looking back on her life. It starts off by telling us about finding out she was pregnant at 17 to a guy she was in love with, she soon found out that he was a loser.

Having to quit college to have her baby boy and then she ended up looking after her boyfriend because he would come home drunk every night. In the end she manages to leave him and she moved back home with her mother and she eventually goes back to college.

While she was at college she started dating again but she was on contraception but it made her ill so she stopped taking it and at around 19 years old she got pregnant again by her new boyfriend, she now just graduating college and four months pregnant and not wanting to tell her mother she moves in with her brother and she tries but fails to get a job.

In the end after she gives birth to her second child she moves in with the baby daddy’s family and starts working for an online company.

Towards the end of the book she goes on to tell the reader about her dad finally sending her a visa so she can go and live in the USA, she decided to move to America leaving her boyfriend and her boys in the Philippines.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...