Monday, January 23, 2017

Review - Ice Guardian by Erin Maxwell


Ice Guardian (A Sacred Journey Short Story)Title: Ice Guardian
Author: Erin Maxwell
Series: A Sacred Journey Short Story
Pages: 17
Release Date: November 27th 2016
Genre: SciFi
Publisher: 
Source: Amazon
Format: eBook
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: Amaya is a Syhien like no other—the only warrior among her guardian protected kind. With a love for weapons and a good fight to keep her strong, the snowy plains of Palacous provides the fight she needs to prove she doesn’t need her guardian to protect her. But, she encounters more than she bargained for and soon learns there’s more to her journey when she unearths secrets lost beneath the ice. 

Authors Note: Hey everyone! Just a quick note to let you all know that Ice Guardian, Book One in the Sacred Journey Short Story Series, is a very short read. Only 4000 words long! I know that is an incredibly short read, but I'm writing these books as an introduction to the main novel, Sacred Journey. It serves to introduce some of the side characters in the novel, giving you a deeper look into Planet Khrellia and its inhabitants!

This book starts the countdown. Once the countdown ends, Amaya's story will begin!

My Review: This short story is the first of 4 about Amaya. Amaya was brought up in Palacous by an Ice Guardian after the death of her parents, while she is there on her first part of the journey she fights the giant that brought her up along with a few other creatures and along the way she stumbles upon the Ice Queen and her sword.

This book is just to introduce you to the main characters, I enjoyed it but I really wished it could have been longer there is more that we could learn about Amaya but I guess we will learn more in the next three books.

Currently Reading: Kiss and Blog by Alyson Noel
Read In 2017: 5/30

Saturday, January 21, 2017

Review - Christmas In New York by Holly Greene


Christmas in New YorkTitle: Christmas in New York
Author: Holly Greene
Series: N/A
Pages: 70
Release Date: October 28th 2013
Genre: Womens Fiction, Chick Lit
Publisher: 
Source: Amazon
Format: eBook
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: A gorgeously escapist Christmas romance set in magical NYC from the bestselling author of the ESCAPE TO ITALY and ESCAPE TO THE ISLANDS series.

Grab a mug of hot chocolate, sit back and escape to New York this Christmas....

When Londoner Penny decides to visit her best friend Kate in New York for Christmas, the surprise appearance of a previous suiter sends her plans for a relaxing, carefree visit into complete disarray. When she and Mike last saw each other, the timing couldn’t have been worse.

But when Mike decides to show Penny the very best of what a snowy, festive, New York has to offer at Christmastime – resolving to make it a trip to remember – will she be able to resist his charms this time round?

My Review: Penny works a lot and doesn’t have time for anyone since her husband Tim died a few years ago that is until her best friend Kate makes her fly out to New York for Christmas, Penny is happy to be with her friend and to see her God Son but she just wants to hide in her apartment that is until she meets Mike.

Mike was at Kate's wedding he the best man, he tried it on with Penny but she was still upset about her husbands death that had happened a few months prior to the wedding and Penny and Mike had a disagreement, upon meeting him again they argued and Kate stopped them.

The next day after Mike had spoken to Kate's husband Ian and he explained that at the wedding Penny was grieving and Kate tells Penny that Mike didn't know about Tim as they kept it secret, Mike and Penny end up talking and then they go on a date.

After the date all that Penny can think about is Mike and they start to get on really well and they go on more dates, in the end Penny decides to stay in New York with Mike and Kate is happy to have her friend back.


Currently Reading: Kiss and Blog by Alyson Noel
Read In 2017: 5/30

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Review - Hunter by Sarai Henderson

Hunter by Sarai HendersonTitle: Hunter
Author: Sarai Henderson
Series: N/A
Pages: 155
Release Date: July 8th 2016
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Publisher: Evernight Team
Source: Netgally
Format: eBook
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old Hunter belongs to the Telepathic Alliance for the Latent or Newly manifested, otherwise known as Talon, a bounty hunter community known for their ruthless tactics. Her latest mission in San Diego was supposed to be a piece of cake, but when the job takes a treacherous and deadly turn, not even her telepathic abilities could have warned her of the dangers lurking around the corner.

There's only one place for Hunter to go, and that's straight into the hands of the government and their Psychic Intelligence Team, but even the “normal” world isn’t safe. With each passing hour throwing her deeper into the game of life and death, Hunter must decide who to trust before this mission becomes her last

My Review: Hunter and her work partner Bear are bounty hunters and Hunter is the best at the job, she is the first one that Captain picks when it comes to the hard cases, the main problem is as a part of their deal she is supposed to get 3 days off between cases but he hasn’t given her time off in a while, so when Hunter and Bear get back after a case she expects to have at least three days off but Captain has other plans, he is sending Hunter and Bear to San Diego on an important job to find someone who seems to be off the grid.

Once Hunter and Bear get to San Diego things go wrong and Bear turns on Hunter and Seeker the guy that their supposed to be taking down helps Hunter and her explains that Captain has put a hit out on her and he tells her that he can help and send her into a sort of witness protection programme.

When they get to the ‘bat cave’ she gets locked in a cell where there’s a guy in another cell called Duke who tells Hunter he’s been there for years and that he knew her father. He somehow convinces Hunter to escape from the cell and take him with her because he know how to escape the ‘bat cave’.

After climbing up an elevator shaft and through an air duct to be stopped by Seeker, after refusing to let Duke and Hunter leave, Duke pulls a pun and points it at Hunter and she finds out that Duke was the one who killed her father, in the end Seeker ends up shooting Hunter in the shoulder to kill Duke.

After being shot and fixed up Hunter gets to meet the man in charge ‘Smith’ and he makes a deal with Hunter that if she joins them she will be safe, once she agrees to join him he uses her as bait to get to Captain and to take down her old family.

After being used as bait Hunter tries to run but the PIT agent catches up to her and Bear shoots him just to get shot by Hunter. After the shooting Hunter gets picked up by a PIT member who takes her to her old home to help out Seeker who is in trouble trying to take down Captain.

The ending was horrible it made me sad, I was really hoping that Seeker would be able to save the day instead it is Hunter who helps to save the day, luckily for Hunter Smith gets taken by the CIA and she gets to become in charge of the telepaths while cruising around in her old home helping to locate and help other telepaths.

Currently Reading: Spy Society by Robin Benway
Read In 2017: 2/30

Monday, January 16, 2017

Review - Smart Housekeeping by Anne L Watson


Smart Housekeeping: The No-Nonsense Guide to Decluttering, Organizing, and Cleaning Your HomeTitle: Smart Housekeeping
Author: Anne L. Watson
Series: N/A
Pages: 61
Release Date: November 9th 2016
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Publisher: Pronoun
Source: Netgally
Format: eBook
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: There's no shortage of experts to cheerfully advise you on how to declutter, organize, and clean your home. But do they know what YOU want and need? Or are they only pushing rigid, quirky systems that ignore people's differences and how we really live?

With insight, wit, and common sense, "Smart Housekeeping" cuts through the clutter of questionable and often silly advice to offer practical keys to reclaiming and maintaining your home.

My Review: I received a copy of this book for free to read and review through Netgalley. This is a straightforward, to the point book with a wide range of tips to help you keep your house in order. I found it helpful in helping me to de-clutter my home.

The book is to help you find a comfortable solution that you will use to help reorder your home as different things help different people. There are also tips on how to get the whole hose involved. It gives good advice about how to improve the house management, step-by-step.

This is a quick read and has some valuable tips for anyone who feels like getting their home under control is a daunting task. The book did not make me want to do some housekeeping, but it did have excellent tips.


Currently Reading: Spy Society by Robin Benway
Currently Reading: Hunter by Sarai Henderson
Read In 2017: 1/30

Thursday, January 05, 2017

Interview - Jessica Brody 2017

     Jessica Brody     A Week of Mondays

1) Other than Addie Bell’s Shortcut to Growing Up what else will you have for us in 2017?
2017 is shaping up to be an exciting year! Addie Bell comes out in February, and then in August, I have a YA contemporary (with a magical twist) called IN SOME OTHER LIFE and in November, I have another YA contemporary releasing called THE CHAOS OF STANDING STILL.  You can read about both of those here: http://www.jessicabrody.com/books/teen-fiction/in-some-other-life/about/

2) Was it hard changing from female main character to all male character for Boys of Summer?
You know, it wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be! It’s really about figuring out who this person is as a human being (gender aside). Once you do that, it doesn’t really matter if they’re a girl or a boy, you just write them.

3) Do you think you will ever revisit Sera and Zen? Maybe by doing a spin-off of them growing up happily ever after? (I know it ended up with a happy ending but I think your fans will agree that we need more)
I’m so thrilled that people want more of Sera and Zen! I actually get this question a lot! I have no plans right now to do a spin-off or revisit them. But the movie is still in the works, and I think it might be fun to do something to tie into the movie release, although I still have no idea what that would be. But stay tuned!

4) Can we expect any Boys of Summer sequels?
OOH! Um...well, all I can say right now is...maybe. J

5) Is there any news of an Unremembered movie or TV Series?
There is! Unfortunately, nothing I can divulge yet. But keep following me on all the social medias. I’m hoping to post some new updates SOOON!

6) Are you working on anything new and if so how did the idea for it come to you?
I’m currently working on TWO secret projects (that I can’t even talk about yet!) and I’m also working on revisions for THE CHAOS OF STANDING STILL which comes out in November. It’s about two teens who get stuck in the Denver airport during a massive blizzard and accidentally swap phones, sending them on a crazy, all-night, life-changing adventure. That idea came to me most likely because I pretty much LIVE in the Denver airport and I just love thinking about all the different “stories” that pass through that airport (or any airport) every day. So I decided to tell one of them.

7) Although A Week of Monday’s isn’t out in the UK have the reviews been good overall so far?
YES! I’m so excited about the response to A WEEK OF MONDAYS. I’ve been getting such positive feedback from readers which just makes my day!

8) What made you switch back to Middle Grade from Young Adult with Addie Bell’s Shortcut to Growing Up? And will you be writing more Young Adult books in the future?
I will be writing tons more YA and tons more middle grade in the future! I actually really enjoy writing both! With ADDIE BELL, I just really wanted to tell a story about a girl who grows up too fast...like REALLY fast (she magically goes from 12 to 16 overnight). It’s still set in high school but she has a twelve-year-old mind, so it was fun to kind of blur the lines between YA and MG.

9) What do you like to listen to or watch while you’re working?
I can’t listen to music while I write. I get too wrapped up in the melody and lyrics and I lose my focus! So mostly I just listen to white noise tracks!

10) Finally what was it like being chosen to write the Descendants series for Disney?
OMG! A dream come true! I’m an UBER Disney. Like crazy Disney fan. We actually have a Disney-themed guest room in our house! So it’s kind of like being paid to write fan fiction. J

Sunday, January 01, 2017

Happy New Year



I would just like to wish everyone a very happy New Year, I hope you all have a great 2017

Don’t forget to set yourself a goodreads challenge.


Have a great New Year love Annamarie

Tuesday, December 27, 2016

Top 10 Tuesday


Ten things I hope that New Years to bring me

  1. A Job in a school as a TA
  2. A New house
  3. The ability to read more books
  4. To lose weight
  5. To be able to make two cool Cosplay costumes for 2017's Wales Comic Con
  6. To connect with more authors
  7. To finish writing my book
  8. The stuff I need to create a scrapbook
  9. To pass my uni course
  10. The one thing I really want a puppy

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Happy Christmas


I would just like to wish everyone a very Happy Christmas, I hope that you all have had a great day and got lots of nice presents.

Thursday, December 15, 2016

Review - Puck by Kim Askew and Amy Helmes


Puck (A Twisted Lit Novel)
Title: Puck

Authors: Kim Askew and Amy Helmes
Series: Twisted Lit
Pages: 319
Release Date: November 15, 2016
Genre: Young Adult
Publisher: Doublet Press
Format: Paperback and Kindle
Add It: Goodreads

Summary: Life isn’t always fair, and no one knows that better than fifteen-year-old Puck. When she’s unceremoniously booted from yet another foster home, this city kid lands at DreamRoads, a rehabilitation wilderness camp for juvies. Her fellow campers include a famous pop star with a diva attitude, a geeky, “fish out of water” math whiz, and a surly gang-banger with a chip on his shoulder. The program’s steely director aims to break Puck, but she knows that every adult has a breaking point, too. Determined to defy this realm of agonizing nature hikes and soul-sucking psychobabble — even if that means manipulating four lovestruck camp counselors and the director’s dim-witted second-in-command — Puck ultimately gets much more than she bargains for in this “wondrous strange” outdoor odyssey inspired by The Bard’s most beguiling comedy.

My Review: Puck is about a young messed up girl who is taken from her foster home in the middle of the night. Puck is a handful and because of this she has been to many different schools, lived in lots of care home and had seen a lot of different therapists, but who can blame her for acting out after what happened to her.

Puck is living with a nice young woman Paula, but when Puck makes an accusation about Paula's fiance Paula has had enough and sends Puck away to DreamRoads hoping that it will help her to let go of all her anger and finally learn to trust someone.

While at DreaRoads we meet seven other children who have all done different things wrong to end up being stuck there, and it turns out that there stay could be longer than they imagined.

First is a pop star Tatania (Tonya) who was rich and successful but she got sent to DreamRoads because she was stealing, then there is Nissa who was sleeping with her married teacher, Frances who took an overdose, Quin who got hooked on medication, Peabo who liked to set fires when he was angry, Snout who acts like a crazy person but is there because he was hiding out in his school for seven months after playing off his parents, he only got caught because he accidentally set the canteen on fire while cooking and DreamRoads longest resident Ronnie who hurt someone bad enough to put them in a coma.

At first Puck decides that she is going to do everything she can to get out of the place and she starts a fight with Tonya on her first night and ends up injuring the woman in charge Barb and is punished by making her take a cold shower to get all the food of her.

The next morning the campers are split into two groups with two cam chaperones Puck is with Mia and Xander while Ellen and Dmitri are assigned to watch the other campers while they hike through the desert to where they will start working on the four Stepping Stones to help them get out of DreamRoads and back home to their families.

Stepping Stone one Fire - the campers had to be able to light a fire with the exception of Peabo, this is the Stepping Stone that Ronnie keeps failing at and why he is still at DreamRoads, at the same time Puck is also failing at it until Ronnie uses a lighter he stole from Tonya to light the fire and Puck takes credit for it.

Stepping Stone two is Air - this challenge requires the campers to rappel from a mountain, Puck goes second down the side of the mountain and half way down she stops to take in the scenery and everyone thinks she has stopped because she is scared but she shows them that she isn't scared by free falling until Xander stops her decent.

Stepping Stone three Earth - for the earth challenge the campers are made to dig a hole so that when they are stood in it, it comes up to their necks after digging each camper is given paper to write anything they want on it, it could be a poem, a confession anything, they are told that no one will ever read what they have written it was a promise, Puck struggles to write anything and then just before they are make to stop she writes something. Barb tells the campers to put the paper in the hole that they had dug and then they cover it up.

Stepping Stone four Water - for the water challenge the campers take a short hike and then they are put into groups again where they get into boats to go down stream on it the only problem is Puck has a fear of the water because of something that happened to her when she was younger. Puck manages to get onto the boat and help sail down the river until they hit a problem and the boat capsizes and Puck gets stuck under the water and Barb has to save her but Puck doesn't realise that it is Barb trying to save her.

Once the campers have completed all the Stepping Stones they go back to DreamRoads safe house for graduation Ronnie and Puck don't graduate because of something that Puck did that was dangerous and it got her kicked out and because Ronnie didn't complete the Fire challenge.

The campers preform a new version of The Wizards of Oz and Tonya sings a song that she had written while at DreamRoads and she decides to donate all of the money from that song to DreamRoads who use it to fund a new scholarship that they give to Puck.

Currently Reading: Hunted by Sarai Henderson

Read In 2016: 34/35

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

Review - The Case of the Curious Canine by Tara Ellis


Title: The Case of the Curious Canine
Author: Tara Ellis
Series: Samantha Wolf Series
Pages:
Release Date: December 22nd 2016
Genre: Children's Fiction
Publisher: Tara Ellis Publications
Source: Author
Format: eBook
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads


Synopsis: The next best thing to owning your own dog is having a job where you get to take care of them. That’s what Sam figures when she, Ally, and Cassy all volunteer at a local animal shelter. But they don’t expect the trouble that comes along with the work.

When dogs start showing up at the shelter with odd symptoms, the director doesn’t seem concerned. However, strange coincidences start to happen and Sam doesn’t believe that they’re random.

Confronted with the hard decision of following either her heart or her nose for a good mystery, Sam faces an emotional dilemma. Sometimes, the right path is the most difficult and this is one challenge that’s going to take all of her friends to help solve.

My Review: Another amazing book in the Samantha Wolf series. In this adventure the girls are volunteering at an animal shelter where they bathe, walk and help to clean out the cages. While they are volunteering they are also still doing their charity club and are working on a bake sale to help raise money for a women's shelter and the girls are looking after Cora the  5 year old daughter of their neighbour Kendra most nights.

While at the animal shelter someone brings in a cat that they have found and asks about a dog that their neighbour has lost but the shelter haven't seen the dog that they describe, only to find out that a dog that was brought in earlier that day was the one they were looking for, this dog was sick, it had missing fur and red swollen eyes that the vet had determined was an allergic reaction to something it could possibly have eaten, the same day two more dogs with the same injuries get brought in and Sam falls in love with a poodle she names Rocky.

Sam and Ally look after 5 year old Cora one night and when Kendra comes to collect her she is wearing a lab coat and when she picks little Cora up Cora has an asthma attack and Kendra takes off the lab coat that she had forgot that she was wearing and tells Sam and Ally that Cora is allergic to some of the things she has been working with and because she was in a rush to get back to collect Cora she forgot to take it off.

One day Sam is travelling to Cassy's house by herself as Ally is babysitting again and see's a car going really slow and the driver and passenger are acting strangely, when they pass her she spots the same symbol on the side of the car as one that was on the lab coat.

On their next visit to the animal shelter someone comes in and takes one of the sick dogs away claiming that it was theirs but Sam recognizes the man as the one from the car and she believes that he is the one causing the dogs to be ill.

Later on in the story Sam notices that Kendra looks like she has been crying and after telling Ally and Cassy while they are baking with Miss Covington she ends up using Miss Covington's advice to let an adult talk to Kendra rather than talking to her herself and getting into trouble and Ally says she will get her mum to talk to her.

John and Sam go to the lab so that John can ask questions for a school project and so Sam can see if she can recognize any of the people working there as the people who took the dog and Sam ends up wandering off and as she is exploring Kendra bumps into Sam when she is exiting a room where Sam hears dogs barking.

After Mrs Parker has spoken to Kendra she agrees to take Cora to Covington Ranch so Cora can ride the horses and to see if she is allergic to them too. While they are at the Ranch Sam sits with Kendra and after some light conversation Sam gets a phone call from the shelter telling her that Rocky had been collected by his owner and this ends up getting Kendra to tell her all about what has been going on at the lab. The concoct a plan to prove that the owner of the business had no idea about what one of his employees has been up to and this causes Sam, Ally, Cassy and the boys getting caught sneaking onto the property of the lab where Kendra is being held and they get held hostage until the director of the animal shelter finds them and takes the five kids, Kendra and the dogs.

The kids parents come to the animal shelter to collect them after the incident and they get told that they don't think they will be able to help in the shelter anymore but John suggests that they stay as a part of their punishment plus it gives the shelter extra hands as they are struggling with just the three staff members.

The ending of the story is awesome, I won't spoil it but it is great.

This installment is due to be released on December 22nd so click the link above to pre-order now

Currently Reading: Hunted by Sarai Henderson
Read In 2016: 34/35

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Top 10 Tuesday


This weeks Top 10 is Top 10 things I want for Christmas this year

  1. Jessica Brody's A Week of Mondays
  2. To catch up on my uni work
  3. To move house
  4. A new laptop
  5. A job
  6. The rest of the Hunger Games, Divergent and Alice in Wonderland DVDs
  7. A car
  8. A WWE Paige T-Shirt
  9. To be able to get everyone presents
  10. To spend Christmas with my family

Monday, December 12, 2016

Review - I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You by Ally Carter


I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You (Gallagher Girls, #1)Title: I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You
Author: Ally Carter
Series: Gallagher Girls
Pages: 309
Release Date: April 25th 2006
Genre: Young Adult Mystery
Publisher: Orchard Books
Source: Amazon
Format: Paperback
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: The Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women is a fairly typical all-girls school - that is, it would be if every school taught advanced martial arts in PE and the latest in chemical warfare in science, and students received extra credit for breaking CIA codes in computer class. The Gallagher Academy might claim to be a school for geniuses, but it's really a school for spies. Cammie Morgan is a second-generation Gallagher Girl, and by her sophomore year she's already fluent in fourteen languages and capable of killing a man in seven different ways (one of which involves a piece of uncooked spaghetti). But the one thing the Gallagher Academy hasn't prepared her for is what to do when she falls for a boy who thinks she's an ordinary girl. Sure, she can tap his phone, hack into his computer, and track him through town without his ever being the wiser - but can she have a relationship with a regular boy who can never know the truth about her? Cammie may be an elite spy-in-training, but in her sophomore year, she's beginning her most dangerous mission - falling in love.

My Review: I decided to read this book because I had previously read the Heist Society series and I had read a lot of good reviews about and I really enjoyed reading this book and cannot wait to get started on the next one.

Cammie is a student at Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women and also the Head teachers daughter. The Gallagher Academy is an all girls school for young spies where the girls are taught various languages and numerous ways to kill someone.

Cammie and the rest of the sophomore girls get to join the Cov Ops class and the first mission Cammie and her friends go on turns out to be a lot more complicated than they first thought, Cammie falls in love while on the mission.

Cammie has to make up stories so that she can keep on seeing him without letting it slip that she goes to Gallagher Academy. This is easy for Cammie as she is taught on how to keep a fake identity straight, her friends help her to get to know the guy by pulling off their own missions and stake outs to get dirt on the lad.

This story has a lot of great scenes that I want to write about but if I do the it will spoil it so if you have't yet read this book WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?


Currently Reading: Hunted by Sarai Henderson
Read In 2016: 34/35

Sunday, December 11, 2016

Review - Faking 19 by Alyson Noel


Faking 19Title: Faking 19
Author: Alyson Noel
Series: N/A
Pages: 224
Release Date: March 1st 2005
Genre: Contemporary
Publisher: St. Martins Griffin
Source: Amazon
Format: Paperback
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads


Synopsis: On the surface, 17-year-old Alex has it made; she is beautiful and smart. Plus, she's best friends with M., the absolute most popular girl in school. Feeling bored with their fancy Orange County suburban town, Alex and M. decide to check out L.A.'s glitzy nightlife scene.


Pretending to be 19, Alex and M. meet Trevor and Connor, two rich older guys. At first, Alex can't believe her luck--she gets to hang out at hip Hollywood houseparties and downtown L.A. clubs. These weekend trips into the city become the perfect distraction for Alex, who is secretly struggling with her failing senior year grades, her absentee father, and her clueless mom. 


But, after the initial fun wears off for Alex, she is forced to reevaluate her friendship with M., who is hiding some secrets beneath her perfect Burberry-clad exterior...


My Review: Faking 19 was Alyson Noels debut novel and it was good.

Faking 19 is about two 17 year old girls Alex and her best friend who she refers to as M. Alex and M are from a different backgrounds, she is significantly poorer than M. Alex's parents ave been divorced for 10 years and she lives with her mum where M's parents are hardly home.

Alex is a very smart young girl who ace's all her exams until her sophomore year where she starts receiving Cs and not really putting in any effort into he school work, she is also skipping classes so her grades are going down even more and she defiantly won't be graduating but she doesn't care as her dad won't pay for her college fees.

M is a party girl and is more experienced than Alex with boys and one day when out shopping the girls meet two rich 21 year old British boys and this is where Alex's world becomes more about parting and having fun over attending school and doing school work.

Connor is mega rich as he owns a large record label and Alex is glad that she may have found her way out of her boring life and decides that she won't even have to go to college like everyone wants her to, the only problem is what should have been a great time doesn't go as Alex hoped it would and she realizes that she cannot count on anyone, she also realizes that there is more to life than the latest fashion and cute guys.

This book shows that Alex is just a regular girl underneath all of the false bravado that she often hides behind.

I am glad that Alex finally get the happy ending that she deserves. This is a good book for anyone who wants to escape the real world for a short time.

Currently Reading: Hunted by Sarai Henderson
Read In 2016: 34/35

Saturday, December 10, 2016

Review - A Distant Echo by Tara Meyers



A Distant Echo: A Chris Echo Mystery Short Story (Chris Echo Mysteries Book 0)Title: A Distant Echo
Author: Tara Meyers
Series: N/A
Pages: 224
Release Date: November 4th 2016
Genre: Thriller
Publisher: Forest Grove Books
Source: Author
Format: eBook
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads


Synopsis: Criminal profiler, Chris Echo, has worked hard to become one of the elite members of Seattle's police department. Nothing, not even her personal life, gets in the way of her pursuits to track down ruthless killers. With a serial murderer on the loose, Chris struggles to find the connections necessary to close in on a suspect. While taking risks to force the answers, she unexpectedly places herself in the path of her worst nightmare. 

A Distant Echo is a short story of around 10,000 words and takes the average reader one to one-and-a-half hours to read. It is a lead-in to a new, thrilling crime series called The Chris Echo Mysteries. 

My Review: This is Tara Meyers first story and it is just a taste of her new upcoming series. 

A Distant Echo is about a Criminal Profiler who is working on a case about a woman who was murdered and the murdered woman's murder is similar to two other women's murders and where they were dumped but her boss and team mates thinks she is getting to involved in the case and they decide to take her off it and give her another case to work on but Chris Echo cannot let the case go and she goes to the house of the guy who she believes is the murderer to stake out his house and take pictures.

Later that night when she gets home she realizes something while she is running, she realizes that for the places that the women were dumped are places that would need passes to be able to get into the areas so she goes home and when she gets there she is attacked by the guy she was staking out and as he's about to kill her two Chris' work mate turns up and see's whats going on.

This was a nice short story and I hope that the novel that is to follow is just as good as the teaser as I want to know what is going to happen next.

Currently Reading: Puck by Kim Askew and Amy Helmes
Read In 2016: 33/35

Friday, December 09, 2016

Review - Daddy's Little Secret: Pregnant at 14 and There's Only One Man Who Can Be the Father by Tina Davis


Daddy's Little Secret: Pregnant at 14 and There's Only One Man Who Can Be the FatherTitle: Daddy's Little Secret: Pregnant at 14 and There's Only One Man Who Can Be the Father
Author: Tina Davis
Series: N/A
Pages: 336
Release Date: June 9th 2011
Genre: True Story
Publisher: Ebury Press
Source: Amazon
Format: Kindle
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads


Synopsis: 'I hated the thought of his child growing inside me...but at least I'd soon have somebody to love and, finally, somebody to love me back.'

Tina has never had a stable upbringing. Aged seven, she has a paranoid schizophrenic for a mother and her father is a distant memory. So when Tina gets a new step-dad, who lavishes sweets and cuddles upon her, she feels wanted for the first time ever.

Sadly, her new daddy isn't all that he seems. He begins to sexually abuse Tina, using chilling threats to scare her into silence.

Tina is so terrified, she even gives birth to four of her step-father's children without breathing a word. Her world becomes so warped the cruelty she endures seems normal. Until eventually, the tragic death of one of her innocent children makes her see otherwise...
This is the inspiring true story of how a frightened little girl grew into a fighter and finally found the strength to escape the man who stole her childhood.

My Review: Tina was only 9 when her step father started to abuse her, he used threats to keep her quiet and it worked, Tina was stuck under his threats for 16 years before she found the courage to finally leave him.

During the 16 years of hell that Tina went through her mum left her stepdad and left her with him taking her little brother and sister so Tina was left to suffer the abuse as well as look after her youngest sibling who believed that Tina was his mum.

When Tina turned 14 she got pregnant by her stepdad and he made her come up with a story about her going out and getting drunk and sleeping with a guy named Alex, after she find out she is pregnant she ends up with social services on her doorstep because someone had called telling them that her step dad was abusing her and was the father tot he baby but because she was so scared she kept up with the charade that the dad was this guy she met in a club.

A few years later at 16 she get pregnant again with her stepdads second child who has learning difficulties and Tina is now staying home full time looking after 3 children and having to make sure that her controlling stepdad is pleased every night. He won't let Tina chose what the children wear or eat and if she ever does pick out an outfit he makes her take it off and put something else that he picks out on them.

After the devastating death of her 3rd child Tina finds some solace in an online group support group for grieving parents and she finds new friends and her stepdad doesn't like it and tried to stop her from getting online by taking away the cables.

In the end Tina finally finds the courage to leave him and he believes that she will be back within 2 years and after she has left him the whole secret comes out about what her stepdad did to her for the last 16 years and he ends up getting arrested, but when he got arrested he denied all charges and when a second person came forward and the trial started he was putting Tina through hell taking the kids and not giving them back.

On the day that Tina was mean to testify he pleaded guilty to some accounts of abusing her so that he got a reduced sentence but he pleaded not guilty to the second victims crimes and was found guilty but with the reduced sentences that he got for Tina he only got sent to jail for 11 years and would be able to get out in 5 and a half.

Tina found out during the cases that she was going through that her mum was the one who was trying to get Tina away from her stepdad but she couldn't do it because Tina denied all the accusations.

I think that Tina is a very brave woman to share her story with the world, it certainly had me in tears in some places and I hope that it helps other victims who haven't yet come forward to come forward so that their abuser can be punished.

Currently Reading: Puck by Kim Askew and Amy Helmes
Read In 2016: 33/35

Thursday, December 08, 2016

Review - Diary of Anna the Girl Witch: Foundling Witch by Max Candee


Diary of Anna the Girl Witch: Foundling WitchTitle: Diary of Anna the Girl Witch: Foundling Witch
Author: Max Candee
Series: Diary of Anna the Girl Witch
Pages: 171
Release Date: May 27th 2016
Genre: Middle Grade
Publisher: Helvetic House
Source: Amazon
Format: Kindle
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: What do you do when you discover you’re a witch... And that using your new powers destroys your soul a little each time?

Set in the Swiss countryside, this story blends ancient folklore with a coming of age tale about a young witch on the brink of womanhood. 

Anna Sophia has always known she was different. She didn’t know just how different until now. 

On the eve of her 13th birthday — in the orphanage where she’s spent most of her childhood — Anna wonders about her past. She never knew her parents, doesn’t even know where she came from. All she has to go by is an unbelievable fairy tale her uncle used to tell: that she was found as a baby, tucked among a pack of bear cubs in the wilds of Russia. 

To make matters even more complex, Anna has discovered that she can see and do things that no one else can. So far, she’s kept her powers a secret, and they remain strange and frightening even to her. 

It’s only when Anna receives a letter from her mother — a mother she will never meet — that she discovers some of the truths about her past, and begins to uncover the possibilities in her future. As Anna continues to learn more about her secret abilities, she finds out that her neighbors are hiding something of their own: a plot to harm Anna and her friends. 

Can Anna Sophia use her newfound supernatural powers to stop them? Can she fight back, without endangering her own soul? And maybe, just maybe, is her own secret tied up with theirs? 

Through a story of otherworldly magic, Anna Sophia finds a sense of real-world belonging. With its cast of strong characters, inventive setting, and engaging storyline, this fantasy adventure is a relevant novel for middle grade children or young adults. 

My Review: Anna is an independent and confidant young girl and the story follows her journey to discovering who she really is.

Anna lives in an orphanage and often wonders about her parents who she knows nothing about as she was found among a pack of bear cubs in Russia.

Anna is worried about her Uncle Misha because he hasn't been replying to her letters. Uncle Misha looked after Anna for the first 6 years of her life, he was the one who found her among the bear cubs.

When Anna is about to turn 13 she senses something is going to happen and she starts seeing and doing things that other people are unable to do like being able to see the moon when the sun is out.

She discovers that there is a fine line between good and evil in this new world that she is finding out about.

I liked Anna as a character and her abilities were cool. The story however might be a little more for teens rather then young children as it is a little dark in some places but it is a nice little read.


Currently Reading: Puck by Kim Askew and Amy Helmes and The Case of the Curious Canine by Tara Ellis
Read in 2016: 32/35

Wednesday, December 07, 2016

Review - A New Witch in Town (Maybe Two) by Dani Corlee


A New Witch in Town (Maybe Two) (Witches of Springsville, #1)Title: A New Witch in Town (Maybe Two)
Author: Dani Corlee
Series: Witches of Springsville
Pages: 159
Release Date: February 6th 2015
Genre: Fiction
Publisher: N/A
Source: Amazon
Format: Kindle
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: Kimberly wants nothing more than to begin a new life with her four-year-old daughter. What begins as a fresh start quickly becomes something Kimberly could never have imagined.
Becoming a witch was never part of the plan. Kimberly is soon hailed a Queen, but why that happened and how she deals with it is only the beginning of her adventure.
Fearing for not only herself but her daughter, Kimberly struggles with fighting destiny and not fulfilling a prophecy laid out long before she and her daughter were born.
Can this duo of new witches come to terms with what has happened or will all be lost and their destiny not reach its full potential?
My Review: Kimberly and her daughter Aurora are moving to a new house and Aurora is excited about all the new adventures she would get up to with her mum and new friends.

Once they get to their new house their neighbours are spying on them and they seem to be baffled as to why they would have bought the house and figure it's because they don't know the story of the house. The story of the house is interesting and everything the towns members predict comes true. The town has been waiting for this day for a long time, they have been waiting for a Queen witch to arrive but at first they are confused when a regular girl shows up instead.

While exploring the house little Aurora finds a china pot under her bed and Kimberly is sure that it doesn't belong to them and wasn't there when they unpacked the furniture and when Kimberly opens it she discovers a yellowed piece of paper with what she believes is a poem on it which little Aurora insists Kimberly reads to her once Kimberly has finished reading the poem there is a loud noise which startles the pair and unknown to them the poem turned them into witches.

During the book Kimberly meets with the towns witch council members who help her with her magic and they help Kimberly out by looking after Aurora while she is doing chores and working.

Overall this was a great story and I can't wait to read the next one.


Currently Reading: Puck by Kim Askew and Amy Helmes

Read in 2016: 32/35
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...