Thursday, December 31, 2015

In My Mailbox December 2015


I didn't get any books this year for Christmas :( so I bought myself a few books for my kindle.

Books:

  1. The Dinosaur that Pooped the Bed - Tom Fletcher and Dougie Pointer
Kindle:
  1. The First for Noelle - Deanna Dee
  2. Spirelli Paranormal Investigations - Kate Baray
  3. Crimson and Clover I - Orphaned Dragon, Lucky Girl - M. R. Marthias
  4. Murder Takes a Dare - Jada Ryker
  5. Girls Fight Back - Jacques Antoine
  6. Rachel's Folly - Monica Bruno
  7. Crossfire - Andrea Domanski
  8. Trusting the Boss - Mallory Crowe
  9. Verity - Claire farrell
  10. Matchbox Girls - Chrysovla Tzavelas
  11. kissed - Kimberly Loth
  12. Victoria: A Vampire and Paranormal Romance - W. L. May
  13. Crush - Chrissy Pebbles
  14. School of Deaths - Christopher  Mannino
  15. Armies of the Silver Mage - Christian Warren Freed
  16. Her Billionaire, Her Wolf Series - Aimelie Aames
  17. Sharpe Shooter - Lisa B. Thomas
  18. Dark Desires - Eve Silver
  19. Twenty-Eight and a Half Wishes - Denise Grover Swank
  20. Treacherous Affair - Belle Laroux
  21. Catch Me When I Fall - Vicki Leigh
  22. Left Holding His Baby - Kay Brody
  23. Emmalina Waters: This is Your Life - Maggie Bloom

Saturday, December 26, 2015

Her Billionaire, Her Wolf: His Every Desire by Aimélie Aames



Her Billionaire, Her Wolf--His Every Desire (Her Billionaire Her Wolf, #1)Title: His Every Desire
Author: Aimélie Aames
Series: Her Billionaire, Her Wolf
Pages: 70
Release Date: 18th June 2013
Publisher: N/A
Source: Amazon
Format: Kindle
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: A billionaire story unlike any other--

She watches him every day.

For two months she has spent each lunch hour studying the enigmatic man in a restaurant always filled to overflowing; yet, for two months he is there each day in a booth all to himself.

Sara thinks she is safe as she drinks in every gorgeous detail reflected in the bar's back mirror. She asks herself who he could possibly be, convinced he would never notice her...convinced that no one ever does.

She could not have been more wrong.

Chance brings them together and animal lust is unleashed. But what she never could have imagined is far from being the strangest part of this tale. For there are shadowy figures holding the strings offstage and the manipulation of Sara Renardine has only just begun.

My Review: Sara goes into a bar that is close to her work place during her lunch hour for the last few months, she sits in the same place every lunch hour at the bar in front of the bar mirror so she can sit staring at a guy who sits in a booth by himself everyday.

After an incident involving a rude man and a Bloody Mary ruins Sara's silk shirt the lone guy forces the rude man to apologise to Sara and tells him to leave, after this the guy takes Sara to the managers office, kicks some guy out of the office and starts to search for a new shirt but he doesn't find one but Sara realises that the guy owns the bar. Sara and the mysterious guy end up getting it on.

The guy who's name Sara still didn't know, takes her back to where she works but she doesn't go back to work he takes her all the way up to the top floor and introduces her to his receptionist and he gets her to order Sara a new shirt and he leaves.

After the shirt arrives Sara goes into a conference room and changes and waits for the guy to come back, she sits in the room for hours before he comes back and when he does they get at it again even tho Sara is angry at him for leaving her waiting.

After Sara leaves the office a car pulls up next to her sent by the mysterious guy she gets in and it takes her home. When she gets home she finds a strange letter and a lot of money on the floor of her room.

Friday, December 25, 2015

Happy Christmas


I would like to wish everyone a Happy Christmas. I hope that Santa brough you all a lot of books

Tuesday, December 22, 2015

Top 10 Tuesday


Everyone loves Santa and this week is a Christmas themed Top 10 topic Top Ten Books I Wouldn't Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree This Year.

I can't add 2 books I want Santa to bring me as there not out yet but here are what I want Santa to bring me this year.

  1. Evertrue - Brodi Ashton
  2. Frozen Heat - Richard Castle
  3. Delirium - Lauren Oliver
  4. Winter - Marissa Meyer
  5. No Escape - Anna Jones Buttimore
  6. Coraline - Neil Gaiman
  7. The Mist on Bronte Moor - Aviva Orr
  8. Before I Fall - Lauren Oliver
  9. Eragon - Christopher Paolini
  10. The Fire Within - Chris d'Lacey

Saturday, December 19, 2015

Underneath by Heather Marie Adkins



UnderneathTitle: Underneath
Author: Heather Marie Adkins
Series: N/A
Pages: 66
Release Date: 10th June 2011
Publisher: Smashwords Edition
Source: Amazon
Format: Kindle Edition
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: An ancient city, entombed beneath a museum that seeks to understand the brutal race that once inhabited the underground world.

A young woman with special empathic powers offered a job to create an exhibit of the city's artifacts.

Underneath, they wait for her.

Underneath is a ten-thousand word novelette.

My Review: This is the first novel by Heather Marie Adkins that I have read, she is a new to me author.

I loved this short story it was fabulously haunting. I like reading  paranormal type stories.

Rebecca is a widow and a mother who works in a museum as a technician but loses that job and goes to work for another museum called the Ancient and she becomes the curator for the Garneria exhibit which she really didn't was due to her being an Empath and Garneria has a lot of evil energy.

Rebecca's daughter Adara likes to read tarot cards and is a little psychic, she read her tarot cards 3 times for her mum and each time the lovers card came up, later on she read the cards and found that something bad was happening to her mums new lover.

Darren is Rebecca's new boyfriend who is the head curator at the Ancient, he like Rebecca doesn't like the Garneria exhibit and it turns out that he is also an Empath but he isn't as strong as Rebecca. 

After a date with Rebecca Darren goes missing and he ends up inside Garneria and Rebecca has to rush to save his life putting herself at risk.

The First for Noelle: A Games of Love Expansion Pack by Deanna Dee



Title: The First for Noelle
Author: Deanna Dee
Series: A Game of Love Expansion Pack
Pages: 29
Release Date: 4th December 2015
Publisher: N/A
Source: Author Giveaway
Format: eBook
Buy it: Amazon
Add it: Goodreads

Synopsis: In her sixteenth year on Christmas, Noelle wants a true love.

Noelle Peterson is sixteen and never been kissed. She has her eye on Trey Sang, but she can barley talk to him, never mind anything else. With a little help from her best friend and her goofy cousin, can she work up the nerve to approach Trey? Will this Christmas bring the first (kiss for) Noelle?

My Review: This is the first book by Deanna Dee that I have read and it was a fun little short story. The main character Noelle is waiting for her first kiss but she doesn't want that first kiss with just anyone she want's it with Trey Sang, the guy she has liked for a long time, the only problem is she cannot seem to talk to him without sounding like a complete mess but unknown to her Trey likes her and at a Christmas party at the church on Christmas Eve she finally manages to have a real conversation with him thanks to her best friend Mary being in the church choir and singing a song that has Noelle's name in it. Noelle listens to Mary singing with Trey and she learns that she isn't the only one who gets teased because of the song.

When the singing has finished a volunteer cook Starla who everyone believes to be a witch - the story makes it sound like she is a witch too, - gives Noelle and Trey cookies that she has baked in the theme of "The Twelve days of Christmas" she gives them the two turtledoves.

I gave this novel 3 stars because it was short and I wanted to know more I had a few questions. Yes Noelle managed to talk to Trey but I wanted to know was it Starla who made it happen or was it fate? What happened between Noelle and Trey afterwards?

Thursday, December 17, 2015

The First for Noelle: A Games of Love Expansion Pack


Here is the synopsis for The First for Noelle: A Christmas of Love Expansion Pack:

In her sixteenth year on Christmas, Noelle wants a true love.

Noelle Peterson is sixteen and never been kissed. She has her eye on Trey Sang, but she can barely talk to him, never mind anything else. With a little help from her best friend and her goofy cousin, can she work up the nerve to approach Trey? Will this Christmas bring the first (kiss for) Noelle?

Deanna Dee has released a Christmas novel and you can get it for free until December 19th on Amazon just click the following links.


Tuesday, December 15, 2015

Top 10 Tuesday


Top Ten Best Books I Read In 2015.

  1. Mockingjay - Suzanne Collins
  2. Unchanged - Jessica Brody
  3. Until I Die - Amy Plum
  4. Mystic - Alyson Noel
  5. Cindi - Lisa Scott
  6. The Anti-Prom - Abby McDonald
  7. Lost - Ron Vitale
  8. Cinderella (Book of the Film) - Elizabeth Rudnick
  9. Cinderella Wore Combat Boots - D.L. Jackson
  10. Horizon - Alyson Noel

Monday, November 30, 2015

In My Mailbox November 2015


November might be the month of my birthday but I didn't get many books this month, the books I did get were mostly books I won on goodreads.

Kindle:

  1. The Mystery Of Hollow Inn - Tara Ellis
  2. Regarding Anna - Florence Osmund
  3. Suspending Reality - Chrissy Pebbles
  4. From Paris with Love this Christmas - Jules Wake
Books:
  1. Back to Me - Camilla Dorand
  2. Europe at Midnight - Dave Hutchinson
  3. Wriggly Rex - Lew Dodgeson
  4. Theory of Death - Faye Kellerman
  5. Denial Deceit Discovery - J. James
  6. The Healers Touch - Amber Schamel

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Top 10 Tuesday


Again this will be a mixture of all the topics mentioned here. Top 10 Thanksgiving themed -- Ten books I'm thankful for, authors I'm thankful for, Ten fictional families I'd like to celebrate Thanksgiving with, a personal non-bookish thankful list, etc. etc. (There is only 9 because I couldn't think of a last one)

  1. Wintercraft Series - For getting me back into reading again
  2. Alyson Noel, Amy Plum, Ally Carter, Jessica Brody and Jenna Burtenshaw - For writing books that made me not give up on reading because their books kept me hooked as well as frustrated with their horrible cliffhangers between books
  3. Wales Comic Con - For helping me meet several new to me authors
  4. My Parents - If it wasn't for my family I would never be as big a bookworm as I am
  5. My Cousin Cazz - For challenging me to read more and more each year just by looking at her goodreads challenge
  6. Movie adaptations - For making me read the book before the movie comes out so that it doesn't spoil the book for me when I actually read it.
  7. Amazon - Without Amazon I wouldn't be able to pre-order books 
  8. Goodreads - For helping me keep my books in order
  9. Postman - For delivering all my new books

Thursday, November 19, 2015

My Interview With Deanna Dee


1) Do you write your books on paper first or start straight on the computer?
I go straight to the computer. I type much faster than I write by hand, and my thoughts run too fast for me to put pen to paper.

2) What do you do when you’re not writing?
Read, a lot. Hang with friends or my boyfriend. Watch movies. Talk shop with other writers sometimes. I also do trivia night at a local restaurant and am part of an improv comedy group. It’s a fine life.

3) In your spare time what do you like to read?
Speculative fiction is my first love. I love books that take me places where fantastic things happen. That said, I also like a good romance.

4) And what are you reading at the moment?
I’m currently reading The Seventh by fellow Evernight Teen author S. D. Wasley. It’s a ya paranormal about a girl who sees ghosts and six other members of a power group. It’s really neat!

5) If you could work with any author, who would it be and why?
Marissa Meyer. I love The Lunar Chronicles and fairytale retellings. Mixing the two together is, like, everything I ever wanted in a story, and I’d love to work with someone who came up with that.

6) When you were younger who were your favourite author?
Madeline L’Engle. A Wrinkle in Time was and remains my favourite book.

7) Writing wise what is your biggest accomplishment?
Managing to keep two characters apart romantically for 200 pages three times. Lol. I know it sounds weird, but that was a lot more difficult than I thought it would be before I started this series. Luckily, I like a good challenge.

8) What inspires you to write your first novel?
I wrote a rough draft of Critical Hit-On (Games of Love, 1) last year. It was novella length and lacked true romantic conflict. I was so focused on writing a story where the leads were the quirky sidekicks often found in romances that the plot got away from me. So my inspiration was writing a romance for the sidekick.

9) Are you working on anything new at the moment if so can you tell us anything about it?
Book 4 for The Games of Love is in the works. There will be theater and super hero jokes. That’s about all I know right now.

10) If you could do it over again, is there anything you would change in any of your books?
Probably, but I’m not sure what it would be at the moment.

11) Out of all your books, which is your favourite character and why?
Lydia (the mc of One Fling to Rule Them All.) I loved getting into her head, and I enjoyed writing that book so much.

12) When writing about something you don't know much about where do you get your information?
The internet or other people who know more than I do.

13) For you what is the easiest part of the book to write?
The middle. Beginnings and endings give me issues sometimes, but I’ve noticed that the part of the book that needs the least editing when I finish the rough draft is the middle. Not sure why.

14) ...And the hardest?
The first chapter. Getting the right emotion so readers want to continue, dropping only enough information so readers aren’t confused, establishing who people are—I love it when I finally get it right, but getting it there is a pain.

15) How do you choose the names for your books and the characters?
For The Games of Love, I chose many of my character names so I could make references with them. Sonya and Jaxon in Finish Him are names from the Mortal Kombat universe. The characters in MK are partners in the military, not lovers, but I love the names and wanted to use them. There’s also Parker Peterson. “Spider sense is tingling.”

16) Have you ever taken out a character or changed a character in a book before publishing and then regretted it?
Not as of yet, but I probably will someday.

17) I plan on taking part in NaNoWriMo this year do you ever take part?
Sometimes. It depends what phase of the creative process I’m in. I’m not this month because of Finish Him’s release and everything that entails. There’s always next year.

18) What advice would you give to someone who "ran out of creativity" while writing?
Work on something else. Sometimes getting away from a project brings it into clarity. Also, find other writers to socialize with. Getting out into the community and brainstorming can really help.

19) What do you do when you get writers block?
See my “work on another project” suggestion above. If that doesn’t work, I take a few days off from writing. Sometimes, the brain needs to recharge.

20) Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
“Live long and prosper.” Thanks for stopping by today!

Links

Tuesday, November 17, 2015

Monday, November 16, 2015

Get to Know Me With Deanna Dee


Where are you from?
Originally, I'm from New England, and I'll always be a New Englander. I currently reside in North Carolina, which is a pretty state.

Can you tell me about yourself?
I’m a twenty-something girl who loves reading, hanging with people, singing, and quoting movies. My favourite colors are red and silver, and I have a slightly unhealthy obsession with Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.

Have you always wanted to be an author?
No. lol. The authoring bug hit me in high school, but it was more of a pastime thing. It wasn’t until mid-2011 when I started to take it seriously. Then grad school happened, and now I have books.

Why did you begin to write?
The call to create people and worlds and stories grabbed hold and wouldn’t let go. I love reading and want to be able to give as good as I get.

Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in anyway?
Ernest Cline’s Ready Player One introduced me to the concept of writing geek-related books. I loved it and wanted to give it a try.


How long each day/week do you dedicate to writing?
A few hours a day usually. It varies depending on what else is going on.

My NaNoWriMo 2015 Progress

So I'm just taking a break from writing my NaNoWriMo as I have an assignments due on Thursday, so far I have written 6870 words.

My NaNoWriMo story still doesn't have a title and its not in order as I have been writing the interesting parts first.

I'm off to finish my assignment good look to everyone taking part in NaNoWriMo keep it up.

Leave your word count in the comments if you like.

Tuesday, November 10, 2015

Top 10 Tuesday


This weeks Top 10 Tuesday is a mix of both of these topics, Top Ten Book To Movie Adaptations I'm Looking Forward To or Ten Book To Movie Adaptations I Still Need To Watch

  1. Saving Zoe - Alyson Noel
  2. Immortal Series - Alyson Noel
  3. Unremembered Series - Jessica Brody
  4. 52 Reasons To Hate My Father - Jessica Brody
  5. Wintercraft - Jenna Burtenshaw
  6. Papertown - John Green
  7. Fault in the Stars - John Green
  8. If I Stay - Gayle Forman
  9. The Vampire Academy - Richelle Mead
  10. My Sisters Keeper - Jodi Picoult

Saturday, October 31, 2015

My Pick For NaNoWriMo 2015

So NaNoWriMo starts tomorrow and I have decided to pick the second idea to work on I have done lots of research over the last month and I have plenty of ideas for my story :D

I hope everyone is ready to start theirs tomorrow.

In My Mailbox October 2015


Kindle:

  1. The Agent's Daughter - Ron Corriveau
  2. Crash - Michael Robertson
  3. Keeper vs Reaper - Jennifer Malone Wright
  4. Bound By Duty - Stormy Smith
  5. Destined Fate - Dale Mayer, Kristen Middleton, Chrissy Pebbles and W. J. May
  6. The Red Wolf's Prize - Regan Walker
  7. Princess of Park Avenue - Daniella Brodsky
  8. Daring Damsels: The Regency Collection - Beverley Eikli
  9. Modern Wicked Fairy Tales: Complete Collection - Selena Kitt
  10. Twins of Aurora - Magen McMinimy
  11. Married for Christmas - Noelle Adams
Books:
  1. Not Afraid of Life: My Story So Far - Bristol Palin
  2. A Soul For Attonement - Crista McHugh
  3. Wild Horse Summer - Neva Andrews
  4. Is Praise What You Do? - L. L. White
  5. Under the Coconut Tree - Marissa De Luna
  6. Sequela - Cleland Smith
  7. Shielded Past - Patti Morelli

Tuesday, October 20, 2015

Top 10 Tuesday


This weeks Top 10 Tuesday topic is 10 Wishes I'd Ask The Book Genie To Grant Me (a new book from a certain author,  a reading superpower, a library that is your absolutely #librarygoals, a character to come to life, to met a certain author etc. etc.) YOU DREAM IT AND THE BOOKISH GENIE CAN DO IT.

  1. A New Wintercraft book by Jenna Burtenshaw
  2. More books for the Immortal Series by Alyson Noel
  3. A Unremembered Spin-off
  4. To be able to read faster
  5. To have a library full of books that I want to read
  6. To have the patients to read a whole series in one go and not between other books
  7. To be able to meet Jenna Burtenshaw, Amy Plum, Ally Cater, Alyson Noel and Jessica Brody to interview them in person
  8. To have a character written after me in a fantasy book
  9. To have Damon from the Immortal series to come to life
  10. A film-to-movie version of Revenants, Wintercraft, Unremembered, Immortal series and Heist Society.

Wednesday, October 14, 2015

NaNoWriMo 2015

So I am currently in the planning process to help me write one of the two stories I have been working on so that I can take part in next months NaNoWriMo, I am not going to officially join the NaNoWriMo website as I will need to just focus on the writing and on my assignment due in November.

I was going to do this last year and the year before but with being in full-time university I got really busy and I couldn't think about anything to write but I have been working on two things:

One is 4700 words long already and I was just writing what comes to mind but now I am stuck and have decided to do more planning on what I want to happen in each chapter before I start writing any more, I may continue working on this for NaNoWriMo if I am happy with my notes.

The second one doesn't have any words but it has little notes that need developing on what I want to happen in each chapter, this is the one I'm thinking would be best to work on for NaNoWriMo as I haven't started writing it yet.

Does anyone else who takes part in NaNoWriMo plan their story before they start it in November?

Tuesday, October 13, 2015

Top 10 Tuesday


Top 10 Tuesdays topic of the week is Top 10 Author Duos You'd LOVE To See Write A Book

  1. Alyson Noel and Jessica Brody
  2. Ally Carter and Amy Plum
  3. Jenna Burtenshaw and Amanda Hocking
  4. Jessica Sorensen and Kendare Blake
  5. Keira Cass and Allison Van Diepen
  6. Jennifer Lynne Barnes and Cassandra Clare
  7. Ashley Salazar and Catelynn Lowell
  8. Claudia Gray and Rachel Caine
  9. Giovanna Fletcher and Carrie Fletcher
  10. Brodi Ashton and Ruth Warburton

Wednesday, October 07, 2015

Annual Just For Fun Questionnair

The best book you read last year:
Unforgotten by Jessica Brody

A book you've read more than 3 times:
Facing upto Fatherhood

Your favourite series of the year:
Unremembered by Jessica Brody

A guilty pleasure book:
The Dinosaur That Pooped The Past

A book that made you laugh:

All the Heist Society Books by Ally Carter

A book that made you cry:

Bittersweet Blessings

A book you thought you wouldn't like but ended up loving:

Doll Bones

Favourite classic book:

Not really read any classics

A book you hated:

The Ambrose Beacon

A book you used to love but don’t any more:

Can't think of any

Your favourite author:

Too many to mention

Favourite male character:

Damon (Evermore Series)
Silas (Wintercraft Series)
Zen (Unremembered Series)

Favourite female character:

Seraphina Unremembered Series)
Ever (Evermore Series)
Kate Winters (Wintercraft Series)

Your biggest fictional crush:

Damon (Evermore Series)

A good quick read:

Doll Bones by Holly Black

A book that disappointed you:
Lost by Ron Vitale

Favourite book-to-movie conversion:
Hunger Games

Favourite romance:

Ever and Damon, Zen and Seraphina

Favourite book from your childhood:

Sleepover Club books

A book you can't wait for:

A Week of Mondays

A book you've been meaning to read for ages:

Twilight

A book that you wish more people would read:

Wintercraft Series

Most surprising plot twist or ending:

Unchanged by Jessica Brody

Favourite book title:
Cinderella Wore Combat Boots

Your favourite book OF ALL TIME:
Still Good Night Mr. Tom and Charlotte's Web

If you're interested copy, paste, fill in in the comments or post on your blog and link the post in comments! :D

Monday, October 05, 2015

Wednesday, September 30, 2015

In My Mailbox September 2015


I have bought one book this month from a shop the rest are some of the kindle books that I have bought during September.

  1. Throne of Glass - Sara J. Maas
  2. Winter in Sweetwater County - Ciara Knight and Cora Artz
  3. The Wedding Favor - Caroline Mickelson
  4. Feyland: The Dark Realm - Anthea Sharp
  5. Shattered Dreams - H H Fowler and Karen Rogers
  6. Shattered Dreams - Brenda Kennedy
  7. End of Eternity - Loretta Lost
  8. Anais Of Brightshire - Jamie Wilson and Amber Bungo
  9. Wolf Lake part 1 - Mac Flynn
  10. A Vampire Maiden - Caelia Sky
  11. Island of Fog - Keith Robinson
  12. Just one Song - Stacey Lynn
  13. Hope(less) - Melissa Haag and Allisyn Ma
  14. The Mystic Series - B.C. Burgess
  15. Rae of Hope - WJ May and Chelsa Jillard
  16. Forever a Bridesmaid - Courtney Hunt
  17. Chased by Fire - DK Holmberg
  18. Dark Promise - Julia Crane Talia Jager
  19. The Shopping Swap - Erin Brady
  20. Fledgling - Natasha Brown
  21. The Dream Keeper - Mikey Brooks and Cas Peace

Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Friday, September 11, 2015

Monday, August 31, 2015

In My Mailbox August 2015


Another busy month for kindle book buying but not as busy as last month.

  1. Murder Turned In #2 - Leslie Leigh
  2. Murder At Crawford House #3 - Leslie Leigh
  3. Murder On the Rocks #4 - Leslie Leigh
  4. The Girl in Between #1 - Laekan Zea Kemp
  5. The Boy in her Dreams #2 - Laekan Zea Kemp
  6. Falling for my Best Friend - Hazel Kelly
  7. Wanted - Demelza Watts
  8. Moon Chosen #1 - Mac Flynn
  9. Teaching the Boss - Mallory Crowe
  10. The Almost Wives Club: Kate - Nancy Warren
  11. Imperfect Chemistry - Mary Frame
  12. Nellie - Cynthia Woolf
  13. Forbidden - Rebecca Lee
  14. Grumpy Old Wizard #1 - John O'Riley
  15. Corruption #2 - John O'Riley

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Summer Crush Feature

Summer Crush: A wonderfully romantic boxed set of Upper YA short stories by today's hottest authors.

Summer is the time for lazy days at the beach, sun-kissed hair, flip-flops, and sizzling nights with a new crush. Those stolen glances and first kisses can quickly spark a flame. However, the road to love isn’t always a smooth ride. 

Every Summer has a story, whether it’s a second chance on love, seeing a friend in a different light, or taking a step in a new direction with someone special. Love and long days create endless possibilities, but can a summer crush really last?

Pre-Order today for it's UK release on Friday.

Friday, July 31, 2015

In My Mailbox July 2015


So I spoiled myself this month and bought a lot of books for my kindle to cheer myself up this also means I have a lot of new books to read lol.


  1. Beautiful Oblivion - Addison Moore
  2. Shade - Marilyn Peake
  3. From Italy With Love - Jules Wakes
  4. Finding Love Again - Jessica Matthews
  5. Escorted - Claire Kent
  6. Bought and Paid For - Lara Hunter
  7. All Over the Place - Serena Clarke
  8. Nightmares of Caitlin Lockyer - Demelza Carlton
  9. Tapas, Carrot Cake and a Corpse - Sherri Bryan
  10. No One to Trust - Katie Reus
  11. Fated - Tasha Gwartney
  12. Murder and Moonflowers #1 - Leslie Leigh
  13. Murder in Wonderland #1 - Leslie Leigh
  14. Sweet Magic Song - Olivia Hardin and Mickey Reed
  15. Aurora Sky: Vampire Hunter - Nikki Jefford
  16. Convicted Witch - Willow Monroe
  17. Bound to the Bachelor - Sarah Mayberry
  18. No Knight Needed - Stephanie Rowe
  19. Awaken at Twilight Anthology - Kristen Middleton, C.M Owens, Chrissy Pebbles, W.J. May, C.J. Pinard, J. Wells and L. Wells
  20. Gracie - Ellie Keaton
  21. The Opening Act - Taryn Elliott and Cari Quinn
  22. Secrets of the Sisterhood - Kay Cassidy
  23. Cowboy Down Under - Ruth Bailey
  24. Field of Schemes - Jennifer Coburn
  25. Love, Sex, Work, Murder - Neal Bircher
  26. Depraved - Lucia Jordan
  27. Love, Forgiveness and Horseshoes - Julie Allen
  28. Celtic, Folktales from Wales - Michael Harvey
  29. Beyond The Veil - Pippa DaCosta

Saturday, July 11, 2015

Update...

I am just posting an update of things that will be posted by the end of July as I am almost done reading Lost by Ron Vitale and once I am done I will start working on all the book reviews for this years books (there's about 10 including Lost).

Reviews
- Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
- Until I Die by Amy Plum
- Die For Her by Amy Plum
- Mystic by Alyson Noel
- Unchanged by Jessica Brody
- Cindi by Lisa Scott
- The Anti-Prom by Abby McDonald
- Cinderella Wore Combat Boots by D. L. Jackson
- Cinderella Book of The Film by Elizabeth Rudnick
- Lost by Ron Virtale
* The reviews will be posted all throughout the week and will be posted on the day I write them not on the day I read them

In My Mailbox
- January
- February
- March
- April
- May
- June
* The IMM's will be posted during the week and will be set to go up for the last day of the month that it is for like they would normally.

Features
- I have a feature lined up not sure when I will post it as I am still waiting for details.

Author Interviews
- I don't have any currently lined up I plan on concentrating on reading during the Summer and in September start again with the interviews which means that I will start lining authors up in August so I can start posting in September on wards

Guest Reviewers
- I am looking for some guest reviewers to post book reviews or to take part in an interview and to even promote their own blog

Suggestions and Contacting Me
- You can email me or send me a message on Facebook (links at the bottom of the post)  to suggest books for me to read or to take part in anything on my blog or you can even suggest a weekly or monthly thing for me to do on my blog (if you go to the looking for page then it will tell you what else I am looking for)

book_girl@live.co.uk
www.facebook.com/EscapeToANewWorld

Tuesday, June 30, 2015

In My Mailbox June 2015


Slow book buying month this month there all kindle books


  1. The Sanctuary Series - Robert J. Crane
  2. Maids of Misfortune: A Victorian San Francisco Mystery - M. Louisa Locke
  3. The Key - Jennifer Anne Davis
  4. Alice Isn't Well - Amy Cross
  5. First Verse - Emily Snow
  6. Lady and the Lawman - Joyce Brandon

Sunday, May 31, 2015

In My Mailbox May 2015


May was a busy month for book buying haha.

Books

  1. Cinderella (Book of the Film) - Elizabeth Rudnick
  2. Dorethy Must Die - Danielle Paige
  3. Conquering Chaos - Catelynn Lowell and Tyler Baltierra
  4. Bought and Sold - Megan Stephens
  5. Tressa: The 12 Year Old Mum: My Story - Tressa Middleton
Kindle
  1. Found #3 - Ron Vitale
  2. The Heir - Kiera Cass
  3. Celtic Viking - Lexy Timms
  4. Second Nature - Marie Lavender
  5. French Twist - Glynis Astle
  6. Murder on the Page - Kennedy Chase
  7. The Arrow - Maureen O'Leary
  8. Ugly Sleeping Beauty #4 - Jamie Campbell
  9. I Love Little Red #5 - Jamie Campbell
  10. The Beast with no Beauty #6 - Jamie Campbell

Monday, May 04, 2015

Cinderella

Cinderella Book Of The FilmSo I bought this today because I really loved the film (I've seen it four times and I cried the first two times). I am hoping that the film lives up to the book.

I usually don't like to read the book after watching the film because the films are always different from the book and I'm always thinking 'Oh that didn't happen in the film' but if I read the book and then watch the film I usually say 'What that didn't happen in the book' so either way I normally complain but because I loved the film I have to read the book.

I plan on reading this next week once my assignments are all done and I will tell you how it went.

Thursday, April 30, 2015

In My Mailbox April 2015


Lots of books this month and plenty I am really looking forward to reading.

Books

  1. The 100 Day 21 - Kass Morgan
  2. The Boleyn Bride - Emily Purdy
Review
  1. The Unexpected Occurrence of Thaddeus Hobble - Gareth Wiles
  2. Trespassers - Todd and Tim Wynn
Kindle
  1. Lost #1 - Ron Vitale
  2. Stolen #2 - Ron Vitale
  3. Ravenous - Erica Stevens
  4. Cinderella is Evil #1 - Jamie Campbell
  5. Saving Rapunzel #2 - Jamie Campbell
  6. Killing Snow White #3 - Jamie Campbell

Sunday, April 26, 2015

Wales Comin Con

The Unexpected Occurrence of Thaddeus Hobble (The Great Collective, #1)So today I went to Wales Comic Con I met my Childhood Idol, S Club 7's Hannah Spearritt who played Abby in Primeval and Andrew Lee Potts who played Connor in Primeval, I also met authors Sam Stone, Raven Dane and Gareth Wiles.

Sam asked me to have a look on goodreads at hers and Raven's books and she will see if she can get me the ones I want to review for this blog.

When I saw Gareth he gave me a copy of The Unexpected Occurrence of Thaddeus Hobble to review. It's not something that I would normally read its a crazy crime, sci-fi, horror and I normally read YA sci-fi, fantasy books but I am looking forward to reading something new.

Thanks for the book Gareth and I am looking forward to having a look at Raven and Sam's books.

Thursday, April 23, 2015

My Interview with James Vernon

Bound to the Abyss     Descent Into Darkness (Bound to the Abyss, #2)
When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?
I first started writing back in 2011. My first story was going to be a sci-fi soldier story but I couldn’t get a solid story going, so I scrapped it and started fresh. About half way through the year I began building the world and lore behind my first novel, Bound to the Abyss, and getting the general plot together. About two years later, after dozens of rewrites and plot fixes I finally had a story that I was happy to release. I just had to find the funds for all the extras like a professional editor and cover artist first. That took a little longer.

When writing about something you don’t know very much about where does your information come from?
That’s the nice thing about writing fantasy, especially where I’ve completely created the world and the lore. Anything I’m not too sure about I can make adjustments to and fiddle around with. That way when I write about it, I can make it seem believable and new while at the same time similar enough to something the audience can recognize.
When it comes to something I can’t really mess with because I’m taking it directly from our world, like the best the environment for beans to grow or the average lifespan of a horse, I Google it. Haha.

What advice would you give someone who had “ran out of creativity” while writing?
Two things:
First, start something new! I always have at least two projects going on at the same time. While I wrote my first story, I was also writing a set of short stories set in the same world. It helped me improve as a writer and was a fun way to continue to world-build.
Second, read a whole lot. Not just in the genre you are writing for either. Poll your friends for good books outside of what you usually read. You might find a way to not only reignite your creativity, but also to improve your writing by learning from other with a different writing style then your own.

Is there anything you would like to say to your readers?
THANK YOU.
Seriously thank you. I have had more success then I expected an unknown author like myself to achieve. I’m not breaking the top 100 on Amazon, getting on a best seller’s list, and haven’t won a single award, but still people are finding my book and enjoying it. All that I’ve accomplished has come from people that gave an unknown author a chance.

Oh, and I WILL keep writing. I have big plans for my main characters Ean, Zin, and Azalea that will span multiple books alone, and like I mentioned earlier I always have other things in the works. I’ve spent too much time building this world to just leave it behind after a few books. I’m here for the long haul.

If you could invite three authors and/or poets to dinner who would you invite?
That’s a tough one. I don’t want to repeat myself with the authors I already mentioned above so I’ll go with three new ones in no particular order.
1) George R. R. Martin – Two reasons. One because he is another amazing world builder. The history of Westeros and the political intrigue he creates draws readers in and I love that kind of stuff. The second reason is I want to learn his secret for not getting attached to his own characters. The man is ruthless!
2) Lindsay Buroker – A great indie fantasy author. Her stories flow seamlessly and have the perfect combination of humour, action, and suspense. She also seems to really have down the art of building her brand and getting herself out there. Her books always seem to be at the top of the Amazon charts and I would love to get as much advice from her as possible on top of all that she gives through her website.
3) Terry Brooks – My love of fantasy started with his Magic Kingdom of Landover series and then matured with The Sword of Shannara and the rest of the Shannara books. Certainly one of the many people that have influenced my work and are the reason why I started writing in the first place

What is your all-time favourite book?
I can’t say I have one particular book that is my favourite, but my favourite series is still the Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan. I have spent an untold amount of days pouring through those books. Every time a new book was coming out, I would reread the entire series again from the beginning before getting to the next book in the series. There are other series that come close, Shannara, The Night Angel Trilogy, The Emperor’s Edge, Earthsea, Harry Potter, The Kingkiller Chronicles, The Belgariad, and a few dozen more that I reread every now and then. The Wheel of Time though is still at the top of the list.

Which one of your books would you recommend to someone who is looking for a quick easy read?
All of them? I promise I’m not being egotistical!
Bound to the Abyss and Descent into Darkness are one story broken into two parts and I’ve been told by people that don’t usually read fantasy that they moved through them fairly fast. The two short story collections are fun and you don’t have to know anything about the world to follow along with them. My third book, Hunt for Justice, is separate from the Bound to the Abyss series and a little shorter then either of my first two books so it would be easy as well.

When naming your characters to you give thought about the meaning of the name?
Sometimes. Some names are a play on letters for friends and relatives that I’ve pulled character traits from, others have deeper meanings that some might eventually figure out or they might just end up being fun little Easter eggs for myself. Others I’ve just heard and end up liking or come from wanting my characters names to not all start with the same couple of letters. As long as I feel that the name fits the character, I go with it.

Do you use real life facts based on true stories?
Ha, I hope not! Portals from other worlds opening up randomly in ours would cause a lot of problems.

What is your favourite part of a book to write?
Surprisingly I enjoy the chapters where my characters are just being themselves, sitting around and joking with each other. No grave threats or intense battles, just my characters showing a little more about themselves, their motives, and the relationships they form with each other. Those are the scenes I love to explore because I rarely ever have them planned out. I just let the characters be themselves and see what they end up writing for me.

Tuesday, April 21, 2015

Top 10 Tuesday


Top Ten ALL TIME Favourite Authors (in no particular order)
  1. A. A Milne
  2. Roald Dahl
  3. Enid Blyton
  4. Alyson Noel
  5. Jessica Brody
  6. Amy Plum
  7. Jenna Burtenshaw
  8. Jodi Picoult
  9. Virginia Andrews
  10. Ally Carter


Monday, April 20, 2015

Get to Know Me With James Vernon

Where do you live?
I live in a small town an hour or so outside of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It’s the type of quaint town that still has a main street with little shops and a couple of parades each year. It’s also close enough to more developed areas that I don’t feel like I’m out in the country.

Can you tell me about yourself?
Just a simple guy with a teaching degree and a love for fantasy. I’ve always been a fan of fantasy and sci-fi and love getting lost in worlds. At this point in my life I’m in a comfortable enough position to have a little fun outside of work and try new things. Writing and creating worlds has become a lot of fun, and I would love it if it could become my main profession. If not, I’ll still enjoy the time I spend writing and reaching new people.

Why and when did you begin to write?
Around 5 years ago. I’ve always been a huge reader of fantasy stories and had thought about writing one for a long time. When I was moved around for my job and ended up with over an hour commute each day, I found myself with a lot of time in my car to build worlds and create characters to live in them. Eventually I started putting down what I came up with on paper and went from there.
How long each day/week do you dedicate to writing?
Unfortunately I’m not a very organized writer. Having a full time job and a three-year old running around makes planning a set time to write each day a pointless endeavour. During the week I try to write for a few hours after everyone has gone to bed (which can be difficult as there are quite a few shows on at the moment that are distractions). On the weekend I find whatever time I can. If I had to guesstimate, I would say on average I get a solid nine hours of serious writing time in each week.

If you were shipwrecked on a desert island what book and author would you take?
For book I would have to go with The Name of the Wind. For years I’ve had a dozen other favourite books, but most recently Patrick Rothfuss has made me into a huge fan. The way he tells the story, which if you pay attention is really one characters biography, keeps me hooked for hours at a time.
For author, even though he has passed, I would have to go with Robert Jordan. The world and its history that he created for the Wheel of Time series just blows me away. I would love to pick his brain while stuck on a deserted island and learn how he did it all.

When reading yourself do you prefer to read eBooks, paperbacks or hardbacks?
I have a bit of OCD when it comes to physical copies of books. I would much rather read from a good paperback or hardback, but part of my brain doesn’t want to mess up the binding or the cover. So for convenience and my own sanity, I would have to say I stick to eBooks for the majority of my reading. If I really like a story after I’m done reading, more likely than not I’ll buy a physical copy as well.

Friday, April 17, 2015

Friday's Feature Melissa Hosack

Vampires vs Zombies follows a global pandemic thought to be restricted to the world of fiction as it takes out nearly the entire population within the span of a few days. The survivors are confused and disoriented. Those who die don’t stay dead.

Aurora Mathews —along with Damian Deshea, a man who aggravates her more than the walking dead—somehow manages to survive the first onslaught of violence and destruction only to be taken captive by something possibly more terrifying than zombies —vampires.

Each passing night reveals new horrors to the duo. Most alarming of all is the presence of Kieran, a vampire whose newest goal in his afterlife is to see Aurora dead.

Kieran has a history of violence, and women tend to disappear once he takes an interest in them, and he sees Aurora as his last chance of showing off his skills. To top it off, Damian is hiding secrets nearly as dark as those kept by their captors.

Between looking for other survivors, desperately searching for her family, and fighting off attempts on her life, Aurora must learn to adapt to this new world or perish. This is the battle of human survival that she fears can only end in death.

Buy Links:

Excerpt:
“Oh shit,” he said under his breath. “Aurora?”

“Yeah?” My voice trembled as I slowly backed away.

“Run.” With that, he dropped the chair, pushed me in front of him, and did as he instructed me to do. He ran.

I went as fast as I could, but with his six-foot-two frame, it didn’t take him long to catch up to me. We both turned simultaneously down the hallway, sprinting for our lives.

“Is there a window in the women’s bathroom?” he hollered.

“What?” I yelled back breathlessly, having a hard time hearing over the pounding of my heart and the pursuing monsters.

“Fast! Is there a window in the women’s bathroom?”

I scanned my mind, trying to remember the layout of the restrooms, a hard thing to do when being chased by a psychotic monster that wants to eat you alive. “Yes,” I said uncertainly, my answer sounding more like a question.

“You better be damn sure, or we’re both dead,” Damian came back gruffly.

At his somber statement, I really concentrated, picturing the arrangement of the bathroom interior. “Yes! Yes, there’s a window.”

“Good.”

Before I had a chance to take another step, I was thrown to the side. I went barreling into the women’s room, forcing the door open with my body as I went.

Damian was a step behind me. He lurched into the room, his tall frame slamming into mine and knocking me off balance.

As the door swung shut behind him of its own momentum, we both collapsed to the floor in a pile of tangled arms and legs. The air rushed out of my lungs as his full weight was thrown on top of me. One of my knees slid dangerously between his, and I accidentally caught him in the ribs with an elbow. “Damian,” I groaned, pushing against his chest with my free hand. “You’re squishing me.”

With a grunt of discomfort, he rolled to sit next to me, breathing hard. His hands ran through his dark hair, and his fingers trembled with shock and adrenaline. While I struggled to a sitting position, he touched a hand to his jaw and winced in pain.

With his weight no longer on me, I was able to convince my lungs to start working again. I sucked in deep gulps of air, my throat feeling raw.

As we both tried to collect ourselves, the door flew open, and three mutilated faces stared in at us.

I stopped complaining. Scrambling to my feet, I threw myself against the door. It closed for a moment before being smashed into from the other side, forcing me backwards.

It opened enough for one of the men to get his arm into the room. I spun around, pressing my back against the door, trying to dig my feet into the floor to give me extra leverage.

Damian was on his feet in an instant. He hit the door hard, his hands on either side of my head, the front of his body slamming into the front of mine. He was jammed up tightly against me with my nose practically in his chest. His head was lowered toward me, and I could see his jaw clench with effort.

The door slammed shut on the thing’s arm, and it gave an inhuman screech.

I glanced to the side to see the arm dangling limply next to my head. Blood poured down torn skin and dripped to the floor.

I opened my mouth to scream when Damian pulled back and slammed into the door again, knocking the air, and the scream, out of me. There was a sickening wet noise as the arm detached, landing with a thud at my feet. Without the arm blocking the door, it closed.

Damian reached above my head and clicked the lock into place. With a shaky sigh, he leaned his head against the door just above my shoulder, his body still pressed flat to mine. His breath was hot against the side of my neck, and his body covered me completely. I could feel him all the way down to my toes. He was just a little too close for a casual acquaintance, especially for one I didn't like all that much.

I brought my hands up and pushed on his shoulders. “You can get off me now.”

He pulled his head back and looked down at me through his hair, his eyes glinting with amusement. “If I must.” He lingered a second too long for my taste before moving away from me.

Thursday, April 16, 2015

My Interview With Gareth Wiles

25098818     I Am Dead (The Great Collective, #2)

When did you first start writing and when did you finish your first book?
I first started writing properly in high school, and I finished my first book I AM DEAD in 2009 after working on it for about five years. I'd written a lot of short stories and plays before then. 

Can you tell us about your upcoming book? And how you come up with the idea?
My latest book, which is a prequel to I AM DEAD, is called THE UNEXPECTED OCCURRENCE OF THADDEUS HOBBLE and is officially out in April. I have also finished my 6th book, which will be out later in the year. I am currently editing all 5 of my current books into one omnibus edition for a hardback release in the near future. I generally use everyday life to come up with ideas, giving seemingly mundane things a sinister twist.

When writing about something you don’t know very much about where does your information come from?
In my latest book I covered quite a bit of history, such as Charles Darwin on The Beagle and Adolf Hitler in his bunker, so I did some research by reading around the subjects.

What is the easiest and the hardest part to write?
The hardest part is making the plot last. I tend to write smaller stories then interweave them together to make a larger book. The easiest is character, as I know a wealth of weird and wonderful people to draw from.

Do you ever experience writers block? If so how do you find best to cure it?
No. If I feel like writing it comes very easily to me. I get 'in the zone' and it flows.

Have you written a book that you love but cannot get published?
I've written a few books that aren't out yet, but I hope to have them out in the near future.

Are there certain characters from any of your books that you would like to back to and create a book based on them maybe set in the past or future?
I've done that with the 6th book I've just finished, which includes several minor characters from my previous books who are being featured centre-stage.

What does your current protagonist think about you would they want to hang out with you the author, their creator?
My main protagonist Peter Smith is a bit of a misanthrope, so I doubt he'd enjoy hanging out with anyone let alone me!

How long does it usually take to write a whole book?
My first book took five years to write, but each one since has taken about a year. My 6th book is shorter and only took about six months. Once I've finished writing I leave the book for a month or two them come back to it fresh and edit.

How you ever created a character for a book that you were working on and then realised that they don’t work in that book and then used them in something else?
I've done this all the time. Characters tend to write themselves, and you can't really force them to do things they don't want to.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...